Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 76 to 100 of 118

Thread: Need opinions, please!

  1. #76
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Pascagoula, MS
    Posts
    12
    Great Job!... I like the black backing which makes you see the details of the block more. 2nd would be the blue... that just me.

  2. #77
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    howell, Mi
    Posts
    2,343
    My vote is for no sashing. I think that makes the blocks pop. It will look very nice with a double border and no sashing. I see that I'm in the minority, but that is my opinion. Good luck at the fair.
    Sue

  3. #78
    Junior Member Joanne9of12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    North Central Ohio
    Posts
    189
    Blog Entries
    3
    I know that I'm in the monority here, but I like the blues sashing best. When I'm trying to decided something like this, I take pictures (as you already have) and combine them so they can be viewed together (on paper or the computer). This helps me compare them with greater ease than flipping back and forth between pages or computer screen. Good luck and please keep us updated as to how this is finished.

  4. #79
    Super Member Sierra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    northern California
    Posts
    1,084
    I also liked it w/ or w/o and liked all the sashing except the yellow. My concern here is why you are so involved? I've raised toooo many kids and I really think your daughter ought to be making her own decision. Kids usually know right away what they want. Can there really be a "wrong" way to do it? Sometimes we can become quilt police (or for whatever is invovled) and not let the child go with their own inclinations. I'm probably really off base with this and if so I apologize right now. I have a daughter who won't let her daughters leave anything until it is perfect (not even homework). They go along with it (its all they've ever known) but children need to make mistakes, or not the "best" decision ... they really learn more that way than if they are guided every step. This quilt design looks great, the specific color of a sashing (if any) should be her decision only. Only we older folk need opinions at times (well, kids may also, but not nearly so often if they have been encouraged to do their own thing).
    Last edited by Sierra; 11-12-2011 at 06:00 AM.

  5. #80
    Senior Member cheaha39's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Munford, Alabama
    Posts
    798
    I love the black sashing, or the crazy quilt look with no sashing. Great quilt, I bet she wins a ribbon.
    With quilters for friends, I will always be warm.

  6. #81
    Senior Member KerryK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Heart of Dixie, Sweet Home Alabama
    Posts
    967
    Blog Entries
    1
    I like the sashing, and black would be my first choice, followed by red. The main thing is for her to feel good about the decision. Kudos to you for getting her so involved so early!

  7. #82
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    1,202
    I like the quilt with sashing. I would let her decide which color she likes best. Each color gives it a different look. I like the way the yellow softens the look of the blocks while red and black really makes them pop. The blue gives it a totally different look. Any way you do it will be beautiful.
    Lorraine

  8. #83
    Super Member RenaB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    1,155
    This was my choice too!!


    Quote Originally Posted by SuziC View Post
    I Love the Black sashing. It gives such a great effect.
    We don't stop playing when we grow old, we grow old when we stop playing.

  9. #84
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Fort White, Fl
    Posts
    2,678
    Blog Entries
    1

    Sashing

    I did one of these and just made the center with no sashing and then added borders.

  10. #85
    KLO
    KLO is offline
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    North Central, NC
    Posts
    2,647
    Blog Entries
    26
    My choices in order of first to last would be black, red, none.

  11. #86
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    150
    I love it with black around it, have you ever done wonky using all 12 blocks. I think this will really be cute with wonky setting and a crazy quilt border.
    Michelle in Omaha

  12. #87
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    1,256
    I like the black. Finished size is usually decided how wide you make the sashing/borders.
    If you want to use 1 cut of fabric for the backing (42/44inches) keep this in mind when
    you fiqure your sashings/borders. Nice to see young quilters. :-)

  13. #88
    Senior Member mosquitosewgirl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Currently Mosquito (which is outside of Placerville) California
    Posts
    776
    Quote Originally Posted by Liz aka Helen View Post
    Red or black would be my choice
    Ditto! I like both the red and the black...The red really makes it cheery, but the black makes it look more classy and arty. .
    Heidi
    Life is like a tornado watch. You can hunker down in the cellar or stand on the roof and let the wind give you rock star hair!

  14. #89
    Super Member Doreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    El Paso Tx
    Posts
    1,431
    The sashing looks great.

  15. #90
    Junior Member rainbow quilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    173
    My vote is:

    #1 - black sashing - it makes the blocks pop!
    #2 - no sashing
    #3 - red sashing

    Great quilt! Very vibrant and lively.

  16. #91
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    N.E. FLA
    Posts
    248
    Blog Entries
    33
    What a great job for a 10yr old! I agree with her choice -no sashing, small red inner border and black outer border. She might even be able to use a scrappy binding. What is the backing? Please post picture when finished.

  17. #92
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Halls Cross Roads, TN
    Posts
    963
    Blog Entries
    133
    Same here. Yellow comes in 3rd.


    Quote Originally Posted by dasmith2 View Post
    These would be my choices as well.

  18. #93
    Super Member hudgoddess's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    In the mountains near Black Hawk, CO
    Posts
    1,186
    The problem with asking for opinions here is that you get as many different opinions as you get posts!
    I like no sashing on this one. It's done with black and brights-which lends itself to the modern quilt family. I'd add another row of blocks to make the size you want and quilt and bind with no sashing or border!

    Second thought-How fun to have a live in sewing buddy!

    Third thought=Where's the mess??? I don't see any mess? Wanna see mess? Come to my place!

  19. #94
    Super Member blondeslave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Airmont, NY
    Posts
    3,229
    I like the red. The blocks are beautiful!
    A dog is not "almost human" and I know of no greater insult to the canine race than to describe it as such.

  20. #95
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    SC
    Posts
    1,908
    Quote Originally Posted by Liz aka Helen View Post
    Red or black would be my choice
    Mine as well...
    If you feel like you're special...it's 'cause you are!
    Momto5

  21. #96
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    233
    Now I am thinking no sashing, no border, just binding (red or black) and it will be a funky quilt.

  22. #97
    Super Member wolph33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Wi
    Posts
    9,993
    looks great so far.black or red sashing makes it pop in a good way
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/Upnorthcrafter

  23. #98
    Super Member SuzyQ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,244
    ohh, I love the colors. Your daughter did a great job. I would go with the red, blue or black sashing.

  24. #99
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Tupelo, MS
    Posts
    195
    I like the red sashing a lot

  25. #100
    Member Margo in Maine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Kennebec county
    Posts
    56
    Blog Entries
    9
    I am normally like black in anything...but in looking at this several times...if I was to purchase ....I would like it sewed together and the yellow used as an added binding....It would make it pop....especially made by a young person...that gives a youthful look...It just pulls they yellows out and does not need anywhere else..great job
    His love is deeper still, Margo in Maine

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.