Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 36

Thread: Need trouble shooting for Brother CE5000 Runway model

  1. #1
    Power Poster Rhonda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Salem Iowa
    Posts
    15,604
    Blog Entries
    51

    Need trouble shooting for Brother CE5000 Runway model

    I am having trouble with my Brother. It is locked and won't let the needle move. When I shut it off and on again the needle moves and resets itself but other wise nothing.

    I took the bobbin case and all of that out and cleaned it and put it back in. It will only go in one way so not any help there. I threaded it and put bobbin in and everything is as it should be. but it won't let me turn the hand knob at all.

    When I put the foot down and step on the pedal the needle area shudders then stops and it says E6
    The only troubleshooting I saw online was to turn the handle to take the needle up but as it is froze up I can't do that.

    Any ideas? I have other Brothers but of course this one is the only one that has the stitch I wanted to use. I'll probably have to use one of my others and just use a different stitch.

    Any suggestions would be welcome. thanks Rhonda

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    17
    Try replacing the needle. If it’s already a fresh one, try a different brand. I have this model of sewing machine and got an E6 when I put in a needle branded as “universal” made by Singer. Replaced that with a Schmetz and it solved my problem.

  3. #3
    Super Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Sunny Florida
    Posts
    2,395
    Can you take the feed dog plate/needle plate off? Check to make sure a thread is not caught in there.

    There were a couple of search results about the problem. The links were long so I didn't post them here.

  4. #4
    Super Member OurWorkbench's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    1,558
    According to http://www.brothersewingmachinemanual.com and https://support.brother.com/g/b/sp/f...qh00000068_000 it looks like there may be a thread stuck somewhere. I read some of the replies at https://answers.yahoo.com/question/i...2121550AAHxN8y The "best answer" has some good information and suggestions.


    Janey - Neat people never make the exciting discoveries I do.
    Janey & John

  5. #5
    Super Member Dolphyngyrl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    6,104
    Check handwheel for thread
    Brother (XL-3500i, CV3550, SQ-9050, Dreamweaver XE6200D), Juki MO-2000QVP, Handiquilter Avante

  6. #6
    Super Member madamekelly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Central Willamette Valley, Oregon, USA
    Posts
    7,663
    Blog Entries
    1
    I am also a brother user. With what you are experiencing, I would pull the needle first. It sounds like the needle is bent. They will lock up like that to protect themselves from further damage. It is a hazard warning. Use a good quality needle and see if that fixes the problem. If not, call the Brother hotline, and they can help you further.
    If you always do, what you have always done, The results never change. Change is the wings you give yourself.

  7. #7
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Texas currently
    Posts
    1,036
    Blog Entries
    5
    Have you tried to turn the hand wheel backwards, with the engine off. Just to see if it will release, then turn forward. Then turn on power and see if there is any change.

  8. #8
    Super Member quiltedsunshine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    1,332
    Switch off the bobbin winder. When the bobbin winder is engaged, it locks the machine up.
    Annette in Utah

  9. #9
    Super Member madamekelly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Central Willamette Valley, Oregon, USA
    Posts
    7,663
    Blog Entries
    1
    I just reread your question. Something is activating it to do that, each time you “try again”, the computer is checking to see if it has been fixed, hence the reset sounds then nothing. Your manual will have things to check, or take it in for service...and tell them. I called ahead to get an estimate, and they were $30 less than the estimate. Good luck. (Try the manual first, and try YouTube. Free.
    If you always do, what you have always done, The results never change. Change is the wings you give yourself.

  10. #10
    Super Member mermaid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Tennessee, UC area
    Posts
    1,321
    Quote Originally Posted by Dolphyngyrl View Post
    Check handwheel for thread
    Yes, do this. Can you take the front end cover off? I have 2 Brother machines that sometimes freeze and it is always thread wrapped in the bearing inside--the take-up mechanism...the only way to reach is to remove a part of the front cover. Then it is a chore to carefully unwind with tweezers. A faulty design, but I love my machines.

  11. #11
    Power Poster Rhonda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Salem Iowa
    Posts
    15,604
    Blog Entries
    51
    I took the plate off and the bobbin cover out. I can not see any thread anywhere inside.

    What do you mean by handwheel?

  12. #12
    Power Poster Onebyone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Southern USA
    Posts
    11,218
    Quote Originally Posted by Rhonda View Post
    What do you mean by handwheel?
    The round thing on the right top end of the machine. It raises and lowers the needle.
    I believe giving what I can will never cause me to be in need.
    Being cheap is not a badge of honor.
    My heroes are working people, paying their own way, taking care of their children and being decent human beings.

  13. #13
    Power Poster Rhonda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Salem Iowa
    Posts
    15,604
    Blog Entries
    51
    Quote Originally Posted by Onebyone View Post
    The round thing on the right top end of the machine. It raises and lowers the needle.

    How would thread get around the handwheel? Besides the handwheel won't move it is locked up tight.

  14. #14
    Power Poster Onebyone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Southern USA
    Posts
    11,218
    It's not an unusual problem. I had to unwind thread for a long time from one of my machine handwheels. Usually there is a screw or pop out cover on the wheel itself to take off to see the guts of the wheel. When my Brother froze up the repair guy found a pin stuck in one of the machine gears. He said he has seen that before too. Usually it's something easy to fix with a new part or removing a foreign object.
    I believe giving what I can will never cause me to be in need.
    Being cheap is not a badge of honor.
    My heroes are working people, paying their own way, taking care of their children and being decent human beings.

  15. #15
    Power Poster Rhonda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Salem Iowa
    Posts
    15,604
    Blog Entries
    51
    Ok I took a screwdriver and popped the handwheel cover off. there is no thread or foreign anything in there.

  16. #16
    Super Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Sunny Florida
    Posts
    2,395
    Rhonda,

    Did you remove the feed dog plate? Check under there for stray threads.

    Can you see in the area of the uptake lever? I use a flashlight and tweezers if thread is caught in there.

    Did you have a recent needle break? That can damage the bobbin case.

    Will the hand-wheel turn if you take out the needle?

  17. #17
    Power Poster Rhonda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Salem Iowa
    Posts
    15,604
    Blog Entries
    51
    Thanks for all the helpful suggestions everyone. I do appreciate it

    Rhonda

    yes i have taken the feeddog plate off a coupel of times and taken the bobbin cover out. there is no thread or lint in that area at all.

    I just now turned the machine upside down and with a flashlight and stilleto took out a few bits of lint. but no threads. I t didn't help at all.

    No recent needle break. Yes I put in a new needle and it is in correctly. it will only go in one way.

    The handwheel won't turn no matter what. I took out the needle - it wont' turn
    I lifted the foot - it won't budge no matter what I do it wont' budge.

    I am wondering if it is out of timing or something.

    I will take a look on youtube.

    I ordered another one this afternoon off of ebay so I should get it in a few days. I want to use this one stitch that is on this machine. I have 4 other brothers but they don't have the fancy stitches this one does. LOL so now I will have 6 Brothers LOL and oh did I tell you I am an only child LOL It always strikes me funny when I say I have Brothers LOL

  18. #18
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    1,281
    I ordered another one this afternoon off of ebay so I should get it in a few days. I want to use this one stitch that is on this machine. ( I love your remedy. LOL)
    granna of 5

  19. #19
    Power Poster Onebyone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Southern USA
    Posts
    11,218
    When you new one comes, then take the old one apart. You may be able to see why it won't move and if it happens again you will know. At least practice taking the housing off of the old one. LOL That is always the hardest part.
    I believe giving what I can will never cause me to be in need.
    Being cheap is not a badge of honor.
    My heroes are working people, paying their own way, taking care of their children and being decent human beings.

  20. #20
    Power Poster Rhonda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Salem Iowa
    Posts
    15,604
    Blog Entries
    51
    I watched a video on youtube a little bit ago. she showed how to take the screws out and how to remove the cover on the left end above the needle. I tried to remove that screw but I need to go find a screwdriver with a smaller head on it. The one I tried using the end is too big to fit the screw head. so I will try again soon! If not I'll have my husband take it apart for me. LOL He used to be a mechanic and he is better at those kind of things than I am. Now I'm determined to find out why it locked up LOL

  21. #21
    Super Member OurWorkbench's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    1,558
    It still could be a thread hiding in the innards. Another possibility - http://www.piecesofsoul.com/e6-error/


    Janey - Neat people never make the exciting discoveries I do.
    Janey & John

  22. #22
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Western Catskills
    Posts
    122
    This sounds dumb, but when you get the E6 message, did you try pressing the "OK" button? In doing so, you're saying "I got the message." Then you can do some of the suggestions above that are do-able. I've done this with the "the safety device has been activated" msg on my NX4000.

  23. #23
    Super Member madamekelly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Central Willamette Valley, Oregon, USA
    Posts
    7,663
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by nanibi View Post
    This sounds dumb, but when you get the E6 message, did you try pressing the "OK" button? In doing so, you're saying "I got the message." Then you can do some of the suggestions above that are do-able. I've done this with the "the safety device has been activated" msg on my NX4000.
    Good answer! I forgot about the OK button. Also, turning the machine off, resets the machine, so when you believe you have solved the problem, turn it off, the. Back on. Good luck Rhonda.
    If you always do, what you have always done, The results never change. Change is the wings you give yourself.

  24. #24
    Power Poster Rhonda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Salem Iowa
    Posts
    15,604
    Blog Entries
    51
    There is no ok button as far as I know. and yes I turned it off and on several times. I have retired it for now. I will try again another day or take it to have it looked at somewhere. For now I'm using one of my other Brothers. it doesn't have the stitch I wanted but I am using a similar stitch that is doing ok. I hope to see the one I ordered today or monday.

    Thank you so much to all who commented. I have tried everything suggested if possible. I knew I would get lots of help here. I so appreciate your input.

  25. #25
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    17
    I also appreciate the help in this thread (since I own the same machine). You all are the best!

    Rhonda, what’s the model of the new Brother you ordered? Gonna keep that one in mind since I really like my ce5000prw.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.