Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 39

Thread: Opinions needed

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    210

    Opinions needed

    Working on this scrappy quilt and I think there is too much orange, pink and red. What do you all think. Any colors I haven’t used yet. Too many decisions.
    Name:  60F72CFB-1082-4545-A69D-D61DA3980854.jpeg
Views: 1048
Size:  1.00 MB

  2. #2
    Power Poster Prism99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Western Wisconsin
    Posts
    12,953
    Blog Entries
    1
    I’m no help. I love it as is!

  3. #3
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    48,930
    Blog Entries
    53
    It looks good to me
    Nancy in western NY
    before you speak T.H.I.N.K.
    T – is it True? H – is it Helpful? I – is it Inspiring? N – is it Necessary? K – is it Kind?

    Life may not be the party we hoped for, but while we are here we might as well dance.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Location
    North-East England
    Posts
    527
    Looks great!

  5. #5
    Senior Member tallchick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    885
    I love it as is I wouldn’t change a thing, great pattern!
    Lisa

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Central Michigan
    Posts
    74
    I love the colors and wouldn't change anything. What will you do for borders?

  7. #7
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    35,811
    ​Looks good to me!

  8. #8
    Super Member ArtsyOne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Canadian in Minnesota
    Posts
    3,069
    I think your mix of colors is good, but if you think there are too many of the pink/red ones, how about putting those into a structured pattern, like in a row from top left to bottom right? And if there are still too many you could start another diagonal from top right to bottom left.
    A fabric stash is always missing that one fabric needed to finish the quilt on which you're working.

  9. #9
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    4,598
    That's just a matter of opinion, and personal preference. It's your quilt. Change what you don't like.

  10. #10
    Member heron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    Plano, Texas
    Posts
    40
    Wow, that looks terrific as-is. Beautiful!

  11. #11
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Alturas, CA
    Posts
    8,888
    I think it looks just great. I love it.

  12. #12
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    New Rockford, ND
    Posts
    1,884
    looks great i like

  13. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    239
    I absolutely love it!!!!!
    If you don't want it, send it to me.

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    575
    I think it is beautiful. The only way there is too much pink is if it is for a teen boy.

  15. #15
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    8,641
    I like it a lot! I like clusters of bright colors that direct the eye.

    However, if you are bothered, maybe swap one of the blocks at the bottom (there are two red diagonals touching) with some predominantly blue block and shuffle others accordingly. But take a picture of each layout till you are satisfied. You will know when it pleases you.

  16. #16
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    dallas tx.
    Posts
    5,124
    Blog Entries
    3
    I love it. Take the dark red on bottom and put in top left. That is all I think you need. The rest is really bright and pretty.

  17. #17
    Super Member cashs_mom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    6,192
    Quote Originally Posted by Prism99 View Post
    I’m no help. I love it as is!
    I love it, too. It's a great scrappy.
    Patrice S

    Bernina Artista 180, Singer 301a, Featherweight Centennial, Rocketeer, Juki 2200 QVP Mini, White 1964 Featherweight

  18. #18
    Super Member Stitchnripper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Mableton, GA
    Posts
    9,733
    If you don't like it, change it. I love scrappy quilts and have been making a lot of them. Yours looks wonderful to me.
    Alyce

  19. #19
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Blue Ridge Mountians
    Posts
    7,034
    Blog Entries
    19
    My rule with scrappy quilts is "Don't over think it". Separate or chose fabrics based on lights and darks (I take a photo and view it in the black & white option or , if a fabric is very busy , I only look at the background ). Your quilt is lovely just as you made it.

  20. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Vancouver Island / Arizona
    Posts
    361
    I think it is pretty also but if you are unhappy with it I think if you add a dash of medium blue that might help you. Something like the blue in the background of the piece with the polka dots laying on your table.

  21. #21
    Super Member ILoveToQuilt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    New Hampshire & Maine
    Posts
    2,607
    I really like it. Perhaps you want to move the blocks that have the same fabric diagonals? Just a thought. I, too, would move one of the center bottom reds and swap it with a blue in upper right corner.

    Great pattern and it will come out perfect...just the way you want it to! Keep going. There is no right or wrong. Scrap quilts are great fun to make and to look at.

    Is this an original pattern?
    Anita

    The only place that housework comes before quilting is in the dictionary.

  22. #22
    Power Poster Jingle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Outside St. Louis
    Posts
    34,601
    I wouldn't change anything, it is beautiful. Your quilt your way.
    Another Phyllis
    This life is the only one you get - enjoy it before you lose it.

  23. #23
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    210
    Quote Originally Posted by ILoveToQuilt View Post
    I really like it. Perhaps you want to move the blocks that have the same fabric diagonals? Just a thought. I, too, would move one of the center bottom reds and swap it with a blue in upper right corner.

    Great pattern and it will come out perfect...just the way you want it to! Keep going. There is no right or wrong. Scrap quilts are great fun to make and to look at.

    Is this an original pattern?
    the pattern is Japanese + and x found it on Pinterest.

  24. #24
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    210
    Pattern is Japanese x and + from Pinterest
    https://www.bloglovin.com/blogs/making-rebecca-lynne-5201559/it-grows-2735115761

  25. #25
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    1,497
    It's scrappy, after all!! The only block I have any hint of "problem" with is in the 2nd row from the bottom, 2nd from the left side as we face it. I wonder if it is "dark" in contrast to the bright colors of the rest of the quilt and that's why you question the use of lots of orange, red and pink. Try taking that one off of the design wall and see if that pleases you any better. I have no problem with the colors as they are--it's a happy quilt!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.