Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 37

Thread: Opinions please....

  1. #1
    Senior Member Woodster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Wake Forest, NC
    Posts
    773

    Opinions please....

    I've had a thought that keeps bouncing around in my head, and would like to hear some opinions, for/against/who cares on it.

    How would you feel about shopping at a store that only had end-lots, or end-bolts, pre-cuts, at reduced
    prices? Sort of like a bargain corner stand-alone store?

    I haven't thought it out thoroughly and in detail, but it's one of those things that keeps popping into my head unannounced!

    Thanks for your ever-helpful opinions!

    Deb

  2. #2
    Super Member GrannieAnnie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    S. W. Indiana
    Posts
    7,524
    Quote Originally Posted by Woodster View Post
    I've had a thought that keeps bouncing around in my head, and would like to hear some opinions, for/against/who cares on it.

    How would you feel about shopping at a store that only had end-lots, or end-bolts, pre-cuts, at reduced
    prices? Sort of like a bargain corner stand-alone store?

    I haven't thought it out thoroughly and in detail, but it's one of those things that keeps popping into my head unannounced!

    Thanks for your ever-helpful opinions!

    Deb

    if the cuts are usable sizes and decent material and cheap------------I'm in.

    but a store that sold only this and nothing more? Where would the inventory come from?
    Bad Spellers of the World
    U N T I E

  3. #3
    Power Poster BellaBoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Front row
    Posts
    14,661
    Blog Entries
    2
    Most fabric stores have end of bolts and clearance fabric. I wouldn't buy precuts unless it had each fabric from the designer line. That's the main advantage of buying precuts. You have to be sure the precuts would not bleed, you don't pre wash pre cuts. If the fabric you will be selling is not good quality it doesn't matter how cheap it is and how cheap can you sell good quality that others aren't? If you can then you have a start of a great business.
    Got fabric?

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    10
    Depending on the price I would be interested. I hate doing the cutting. However when I have purchased kits I never seem to have enough fabric. By the time I get to this point the store no longer has that fabric. So this could be a problem with this kind of store.

  5. #5
    Super Member grammy Dwynn's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    2,037
    Blog Entries
    2
    Are you 'thinking' of opening a store? IMHO, it would risky. It would be selling to a limited number of clientele.
    "I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -Confucius

    https://picasaweb.google.com/home

  6. #6
    Senior Member GemState's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Northern Idaho
    Posts
    474
    Blog Entries
    1
    For quilt backings, yes.

  7. #7
    Super Member willferg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Northern California, Sonoma Co.
    Posts
    2,655
    Check out this store:

    http://yourcaliforniafabric.com/

    I'd shop at the type of store you are describing!
    People who start projects and never finish them are cooler
    than people who never start projects at all.


    http://quiltingquick.weebly.com/blog.html

  8. #8
    Super Member DebraK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    West Coast
    Posts
    9,194
    I had forgotten about this place.

  9. #9
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Garland, Texas
    Posts
    1,392
    Interesting concept. Thanks for the link Willferg...did not know about this, now it's listed on my fave list. I personally like to mix and match my stuff because I'm still learning. I don't have the basics down enough to take on a 'dedicated' color designed quilt just yet.

  10. #10
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    19,656
    There are several Mill End Textiles stores in our area (southern Minnesota) - I think they started out with items like you mentioned (except for the pre-cuts).

    Now they are quite large and carry a range of fabrics.

    S. R. Harris is a large "outlet" fabric store located in a suburb northwest of Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    I would probably only be interested in stopping by to shop at a "big" store.

  11. #11
    Super Member ptquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Vermont
    Posts
    5,911
    I used to go to a couple of stores like this, one in Medford MA and one in central MA. Lots of fun, you never knew what you would find. The first one had seconds of Vera fabrics among other things.

  12. #12
    Super Member Scissor Queen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Southwest Kansas
    Posts
    4,829
    There's a store in my area that sells older fabrics. She has no notions of any kind or anything else other fabric stores have. The absolutely only thing she has is fabric. The last time I was in there the fabric was $2 a yard for solids and $3 a yard for prints. Most of the fabrics are decent brands but not the top brands. I haven't been in there for 2 or 3 years now and I don't think most of my friends shop there either.

  13. #13
    Power Poster Sadiemae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    11,454
    Blog Entries
    20
    Quote Originally Posted by bearisgray View Post
    There are several Mill End Textiles stores in our area (southern Minnesota) - I think they started out with items like you mentioned (except for the pre-cuts).

    Now they are quite large and carry a range of fabrics.

    S. R. Harris is a large "outlet" fabric store located in a suburb northwest of Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    I would probably only be interested in stopping by to shop at a "big" store.
    The Mill end in our area began with really good prices, but now their prices are not that great.
    Sadiemae

  14. #14
    Super Member Fraew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Clayton, CA
    Posts
    1,990
    Blog Entries
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by willferg View Post
    Check out this store:

    http://yourcaliforniafabric.com/

    I'd shop at the type of store you are describing!
    Wait a minute! Shut the front door!

    I live right down the street (no joke) from this place and didn't know it was there! THANK YOU FOR POSTING.

    Yes I would shop there. Typically, I like collections so I grab precut collections when I have to have the fabric but don't know what to do with it yet. But if I need to add to something that I already have like for a border or a backing, I want it to be cheap...excellent quality and cheap. Shopping online works well for me...if online vs. brick and mortar is an option.
    Fraew

    "I don't buy vintage quilts. By the time I finish the quilts I've started they've already become antiques." ~ Mark Lipinski
    Link to my albums: http://www.quiltingboard.com/members...85-albums.html

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    central indiana
    Posts
    691
    I know a couple that sells 5 yard quilt kits. Buys from the wholesalers in the midwest and repackages. There are great wholesale deals. Visited Choice Fabric in Tenn. and was blown away. This couple sells at quilt shows and opened a retail outlet that is open when they are in town.

    I would probably not drive to an outlet but if close I would check them out. However, I have been able to acquire a great stash from garage sales and estate sales at pennies on the dollar. It would be a risky operation.
    Last edited by sweetana3; 04-21-2012 at 09:56 AM.

  16. #16
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    SC
    Posts
    1,908
    South Carolina used to have a jillion places you could buy fabric by the pound...and I loved them! But...they all phased out about the same time (20 or so years ago) and we only have a place or two left that sells like that now. And they're not close to where I live and, as far as I know, don't have an Internet presence. So that tells me that maybe that idea has been gone long enough to be re-surfacing again, maybe? I think your idea is a good one; but you do have some competition in NC, particularly through Mary Jo's in ?Gastonia...do your research carefully, you may be on to something.
    Good luck!
    If you feel like you're special...it's 'cause you are!
    Momto5

  17. #17
    Senior Member Woodster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Wake Forest, NC
    Posts
    773
    Thanks for all your input. I value your opinions and thoughts, and will take everything you've said into consideration for my "maybe".

  18. #18
    Super Member jitkaau's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    4,119
    That's what I do now.

  19. #19
    Senior Member anita211's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Northfield, MN
    Posts
    340
    In Minnesota and maybe a couple of the surrounding states, there is a store called Mill End Textiles. They sell end lots, mismarks, etc., and they have a heavenly area of batiks. This store is where I fell in love with batiks. They will have a table with literally hundreds of fabrics--unfortunately they are not broken up by color--and if you dig you can find some great deals. I have gotten Jinny Beyer, lots of Benartex, RJR, and others. Also, if you are looking for a few yards, and there is a mistake in the print, they will cut it there, and then get your yardage. I have purchased fat quarters--lots of fat quarters. And their muslin--Roclon which is what is in the rest of the stores--is something like $4.00 a yard. Which means you can get it for $2.00 a yard with a coupon. I say, go for it!

    Anita in Northfield, MN

  20. #20
    Super Member Pat625's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    North Pole
    Posts
    1,641
    I would definitely shop there..I am on dissability, so any way to keep my quilting affordable is good to me!!

  21. #21
    Super Member nancia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    my heart is in texas, philly and london
    Posts
    4,733
    Blog Entries
    1
    there's one near me. none of the fabrics are labelled as to content. everything "apparel" (or not home dec weight) is in flat folds and the price and length are marked. upholstery and drapery fabrics are on long tubes and are labelled by cost per yard. there are trims sometimes. wallpaper rolls, cheap knick knacks and some candy show up sometimes, and discontinued patterns and sewing pattern books. they have a big sale every 3-4 months. in between the sales events they sell very little. i have never seen lqs quality fabrics, but the home dec fabrics are excellent as are their prices. the sales staff only knows where to find things, but not what the fabrics contain.
    The only bad days are the ones you don't get.

  22. #22
    Super Member quiltingnonie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    small town in Oregon
    Posts
    1,715
    Quote Originally Posted by willferg View Post
    Check out this store:

    http://yourcaliforniafabric.com/

    I'd shop at the type of store you are describing!
    I checked out the link, but didn't think it was such a great deal. Average $6.25 per yard. Granted, that is a great price for yardage, but not for small pieces. IMHO. Guess I am just hesitant that there would be too many pieces in the scrap bag that I didn't like.
    To QUILT is human.
    To FINISH is divine.
    http://signatures.mylivesignature.co...4369F3FA17.png

  23. #23
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Keller, TX
    Posts
    7,515
    Thousands of Bolts is like this and I love their fabric!
    Linda

  24. #24
    Super Member MacThayer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Nevada
    Posts
    1,101
    I have no outlets or Mill ends near me, so thanks for the information and the link! I'm going to check it out!
    MacThayer

  25. #25
    Super Member nstitches4u's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Independence, MO
    Posts
    3,552
    I would shop there if the fabric was good quality and there was enough yardage to be useable.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.