Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Removing Unfinished Quilt from Long Arm >

Removing Unfinished Quilt from Long Arm

Removing Unfinished Quilt from Long Arm

Old 01-25-2014, 06:08 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Haverhill, MA
Posts: 498
Default Removing Unfinished Quilt from Long Arm

Ok, I have a whole cloth for myself on my LA right now.....and just havent had the desire to quilt it. I have tons of other projects that I want to work on right now....

I am about 1/3 of the way done with the quilt. So how hard is it to remove a half done quilt and then reload it at a later date? (hoping I will get it back on the frame later this year) I have the red snappers that I use to load the pieces.

Anything I need to be aware of? or watch out for? sigh, just cant get motivated to finish this now. especially with a couple "need to get done by mid feb" in line to be quilted.
CarolynMT is offline  
Old 01-25-2014, 06:25 AM
  #2  
Moderator
 
QuiltnNan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
Posts: 51,141
Default

i have removed a quilt and reloaded it. but i had leaders attached to the poles with velcro. to load another quilt in between, i had a second set of leaders.
__________________
Nancy in western NY
before you speak T.H.I.N.K. T – is it True? H – is it Helpful? I – is it Inspiring? N – is it Necessary? K – is it Kind?
Life may not be the party we hoped for, but while we are here we might as well dance.
QuiltnNan is offline  
Old 01-25-2014, 06:58 AM
  #3  
Super Member
 
leatheflea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: martinsville Indiana
Posts: 4,461
Default

I've done it, its not hard at all. I usually write the quilt measurements on a piece of paper and pin it to the quilt.
leatheflea is offline  
Old 01-25-2014, 07:13 AM
  #4  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4,782
Default

Since you are only one third done quilting it, you should first baste the rest of the quilt. I would baste down the sides with each advance, as always, then baste across about every 4-6". I found those long threads in between get caught on everything and break very easily once the quilt is off the frame, and sometimes even on the machine itself underneath while still on the frame. For this reason I no longer just make a single stitch for the basting---it'll pull right out. I would recommend you make several short stitches in a row or stitch a small circle instead, something which won't pull out when the long threads catch and break. After doing all the horizontal basting, and small stitch basting along the bottom edge, I usually go back and put in some vertical basting lines, but not as close together. When you reload later, you will only have to attach to two leaders, one at the top and one at the bottom. You should have no problems.
JustAbitCrazy is offline  
Old 01-25-2014, 11:50 AM
  #5  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: central fl
Posts: 138
Default

I did a wholecloth on my longarm. I would get tired of working on it and took it off several times. I just recommend that you mark the wholecloth centers before removing so that you can reattach to the leaders in the same place again. Good luck.
susanlh is offline  
Old 01-25-2014, 03:25 PM
  #6  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Missouri
Posts: 3,389
Default

I have needed to do this a few times. And since I pin my backing on the canvas it is easy to remove and reload. I just make sure that I place a safety pin at the center of the backing at the top, a safety pin at the center of the backing at the bottom, and another safety pin at the center of the bottom of the quilt top. I also baste across the sandwich using long wavy lines of stitching about every 8 inches down the length of the sandwich. When I am ready to reload I center the backing and pin to the canvas leaders, pull out the basting stitches, center the quilt top to the canvas leader, roll and smooth everything into place and resume quilting. Has worked good for me.
Bobbielinks is offline  
Old 01-25-2014, 04:49 PM
  #7  
Super Member
 
MaryStoaks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: La Quinta, CA
Posts: 3,918
Default

Originally Posted by QuiltnNan View Post
i have removed a quilt and reloaded it. but i had leaders attached to the poles with velcro. to load another quilt in between, i had a second set of leaders.
This is what I have done. I like the Velcro leaders for this reason.
MaryStoaks is offline  
Old 01-26-2014, 09:04 AM
  #8  
Junior Member
 
sandyquilts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: East Coast
Posts: 243
Default

I have 2 sets of zippers. This allows me to remove a quilt as many times as I want and then put another quilt on the machine. I wouldn't use anything else, but that's me.
sandyquilts is offline  
Old 01-26-2014, 03:15 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Haverhill, MA
Posts: 498
Default

Thanks for the help/advice ladies, I removed the whole cloth.....was kinda sad but I honestly needed to get some other stuff done and it wasnt inspiring me anymore. I'll get back to it eventually! I hope!
CarolynMT is offline  
Old 01-26-2014, 04:59 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
snow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ohio
Posts: 540
Default

How does the Velcro work on the leaders and how do you put on the quilt? Do you sew Velcro on the quilt? never really understood that and the zipper outfit.
snow is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
mjpEncinitas
Links and Resources
26
11-28-2019 06:48 AM
Debapril
Main
8
11-20-2017 05:10 AM
Candace
Main
82
10-18-2010 09:42 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter


SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.