Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Straight line or free motion?

Straight line or free motion?

I have been learning to free motion for several years and really want to do it But, I have never really gotten much better. Free motion is not relaxing to me. I'm forever trying to get the tension right, or skipping stitches, thread breaking, uneven stitches and the list goes on.The last quilt I finished, I used my walking foot and really enjoyed the stress free process. So why do I think I have to free motion in order to be a good quilt maker? I am just wondering how many of you wonderful quilters on this board straight line and how many free motion?
    Last edited by QuiltnNan; 11-06-2018 at 01:02 PM. Reason: shouting/ all caps
    Molly O

I don't know why you think that. There are no rules in quilting, you just do what you like and it usually turns out well. The best part is whoever gets the quilt will love it simply because you made it, not because of the technical expertise you used when making it.

Relax and enjoy. Do what you like to do, not what you think other people want you to do.
    A quilt is like a good life. It's full of mistakes, but, in the end, it looks pretty good.