Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: Trouble With Rag Quilt

I have a cheap walmart Brother Machine and when i go to sew my sandwiched rag quilt pieces together( which is 2 pieces of cotton and 4 pieces of flannel) my feed dogs do not want to pull the fabric!! Is it just that the machine is too light duty, or am i doing something wrong! Very new to sewing and i am still learning!! Thanks

Blog Entries
    I have used two layers of flannel, but I haven't tried 4 layers. It may just be too much for the machine to handle.

Blog Entries
    I agree, two layers of flannel and one cotton will rag nicely... or three layers of flannel :D:D:D

Murray, Ky. Looking for a nice cushy pillow to rest my head on!
    Blog Entries
    Do you have a walking foot? The problem with flannel is that it needs to be pulled on the top and bottom at the same time. The walking foot has teeth on it like the feed dogs which grips the top and bottom allowing the flannel to move at the same time other wise the flannel on the top layer moves or slips backwards while the bottom layer is moving as it should.

All the patterns i have seen say to sandwich with flannel or batting, so i figured i could use it in the middle and for the backs!! So I guess I have some more cutting a pinning for this quilt if my future!! Thank you so much

I had the same problem with my White sewing machine and realized that my machine wasn't powerful enough. Tried another machine (Bernina) and no problem. I was using 3 layers of flannel in each square, which meant 6 layers being sewn together. Hope this helps ☺

No walking foot just a pressure foot!! I kind of figured that my machine wasn't quite powerful enough!! Oh well I might try to use less fabric or talk the DH into a new machine!! LOL