Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Under quilt long arm camera connection to iPad? >

Under quilt long arm camera connection to iPad?

Under quilt long arm camera connection to iPad?

Old 11-17-2016, 10:51 AM

Default Under quilt long arm camera connection to iPad?

I have looked long and hard at cameras to see under quilt on my long arm. The components (camera are cheap and I have an iPad), but the companies selling to quilters are selling the whole unit for $500. I would like to hook up a mini camera under the quilt, attached to the machine and use wifi to connect to my iPad which is a perfect monitor. I am not tech savvy in electronics. I can find wifi camera, and wifi backup cameras (how to wire them to power?), and supposed apps to connect to the iPad. Has anyone been able to do this? I tried Best Buy, Amazon, etc. but no one knows what I am talking about. Hopefully, someone out there is tech savvy. Thanks.
Old 11-17-2016, 11:40 AM
Power Poster

This would be a good question to ask on some of the longarm quilting groups at groups.yahoo.com . I have seen several threads over time about setting up under quilt cameras on those groups, but never paid much attention because I have not had the need. You should be able to do this for way less than $500!
Old 11-17-2016, 11:43 AM

Someone was talking about one at Harbor Freight.
Best thing I bought at Harbor Freight was a CenTech Digital Inspection camera. It is really used for inspection car engines, looking down plumbing pipes, or behind walls. A longarm quilt guild friend showed us how to it to look under the quilt frame to check how the stitches look on the back of the quilt so you can get the tension correct. No more crawling under the frame with a flash light to do this !! Just put the little camera deal under the quilt on the frame and look at the screen to tell if your stitches are good. Got mine on sale, plus a 20% off coupon.

maybe this would work for you?
Old 11-17-2016, 01:06 PM
anonymous