Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Viking Sapphire dilemma. >

Viking Sapphire dilemma.

Viking Sapphire dilemma.

Old 04-10-2015, 07:06 PM
  #1  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
Charleen DiSante's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: central NC
Posts: 1,095
Unhappy Viking Sapphire dilemma.

Hi. Hoping for some advice from you wonderful quilters. My Viking Saphire has had it's ups and downs. I am considering a new machine because I cannot get it to cooperate for free motion quilting. No matter what speed I use, it constantly skips. Have any of you had this experience with a Sapphire. At the beginning it had to be retrofit on the take up lever and the bobbin case has always been hyper-sensitive and pops up. Help please. Should I just try for a new machine.
Charleen DiSante is offline  
Old 04-10-2015, 07:17 PM
  #2  
Member
 
reneaunoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Alabama
Posts: 69
Default

I sold my Viking sapphire machine because I could work for hours, cleaning, New thread, re-thread bobbin, used top quality quilting thread, fresh needle, etc and it would still give me grief on the fmq process. That said, I loved the embroidery features so much, I got a full-time embroidery machine, and I fmq with my good Kenmore sewing machine. Smaller throat, but never a glitch with fmq or sewing anything from silk to denim! Tin Lizzie or table top George is my "someday" dream!
reneaunoel is offline  
Old 04-10-2015, 07:20 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Kauai, Hawaii
Posts: 376
Default

Also having a Sapphire, have heard and addressed some of these problems. There is great information on the Yahoo Sapphire Group board (access is by signing up). The discussion about free motion is ongoing. There are changes you can make by using different tension and/or foot pressure settings which can improve your outcomes. Unless you are doing a very heavy quilt, you might try using the free motion floating setting, using some additional adjustments, and it works very well -- I use this on the majority of my work. Please check the board, and/or contact me via QB mail. Other Sapphire owners might have additional info -- so I'll be watching here too!
Hulalulu is offline  
Old 04-10-2015, 07:22 PM
  #4  
Gay
Super Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: S.E. Queensland, Australia
Posts: 1,139
Default

I have only used a Huskvarna many years ago,before computerized machines and had a similar problem with it. Have you been using a 'hopping' foot? they can make all the difference. If you decide to change machines, I have a great relationship with my Brothers (embroidery and sewing ) for 15 yrs, with no problems. Very easy to use as well. At the moment I'm trialing a Pfaff CV, and while it has more bells and whistles than the other machines, I'm finding it hard to fathom, and remember, which buttons to push. However it does great work once I know what to do. Hope I helped
Gay is offline  
Old 04-11-2015, 04:38 AM
  #5  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
Charleen DiSante's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: central NC
Posts: 1,095
Default

I have had very similar experiences reneaunoel and am glad I not alone. Love the alphabet on this 830, have a Daisy which I carry to class. This fmq project and pretty much all along have been all stitch and rip. Since I love all other aspects of the quiltzmaking adventure I am fed up. Ever since I got the machine I had trouble with and thought it was me. Thanks so much for your input.
Charleen DiSante is offline  
Old 04-11-2015, 04:48 AM
  #6  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
Charleen DiSante's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: central NC
Posts: 1,095
Default

Originally Posted by Hulalulu View Post
Also having a Sapphire, have heard and addressed some of these problems. There is great information on the Yahoo Sapphire Group board (access is by signing up). The discussion about free motion is ongoing. There are changes you can make by using different tension and/or foot pressure settings which can improve your outcomes. Unless you are doing a very heavy quilt, you might try using the free motion floating setting, using some additional adjustments, and it works very well -- I use this on the majority of my work. Please check the board, and/or contact me via QB mail. Other Sapphire owners might have additional info -- so I'll be watching here too!
Hulalulu, I will definitely check out this resource! The free motion floating is what I have tried. I keep thinking it's just me and no matter hw much I adjust things when I start to stitch, pulling thread up, stitch in place to knot it, as soon as I move the fabric it skips. Slow and steady, regular sandwich of 2 cottons and warm and natural batt. Mames me ready to cry when the quilt itself looks good. Boo hoo ;-)
Charleen DiSante is offline  
Old 04-11-2015, 04:52 AM
  #7  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
Charleen DiSante's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: central NC
Posts: 1,095
Default

Originally Posted by Gay View Post
I have only used a Huskvarna many years ago,before computerized machines and had a similar problem with it. Have you been using a 'hopping' foot? they can make all the difference. If you decide to change machines, I have a great relationship with my Brothers (embroidery and sewing ) for 15 yrs, with no problems. Very easy to use as well. At the moment I'm trialing a Pfaff CV, and while it has more bells and whistles than the other machines, I'm finding it hard to fathom, and remember, which buttons to push. However it does great work once I know what to do. Hope I helped
Gay, thank you for replying. All the bells and whistles throw me too.LOL I have taken a class, maybe another one with a Viking dealer.
Charleen DiSante is offline  
Old 04-11-2015, 06:16 AM
  #8  
Super Member
 
tucsonquilter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 1,081
Default

I FMQ all the time on my sapphire. No problems. I have my thread laying down not up like a regular sewing machine. I also use the little clear foot to fmq. I must be one of the only ones who enjoy my sapphire.
tucsonquilter is offline  
Old 04-11-2015, 06:28 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
playswithcolor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: SC
Posts: 492
Default

I had problems with mine until i took it in for a cleaning. They replaced the take up lever ( under warranty) with a different style. It's been behaving since then. I do have to increase the tension manually when I FMQ. The only thread it refuses is the clear poly that i like to use as the top thread on scrappy quilts.

I usually piece with Aurifil and FMQ with King Tut or Star thread.
playswithcolor is offline  
Old 04-12-2015, 07:18 PM
  #10  
Super Member
 
thimblebug6000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 7,084
Default

I have the Sapphire 870 and although it was a learning curve when I first got it, I am very happy with it. It does NOT do embroidery though, so not sure about a previous comment by reneaunoel. I usually use my spring foot when doing FMQ... (and make sure to change the settings on the machine to match) I am not that great at it, but I'm pretty sure that is operator error.....I know what I should do...but I don't make the time to practice enough. The books that came with the machine are pretty good...and every once in awhile I refresh my memory and am amazed at how much I have forgotten.
thimblebug6000 is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
katier825
Main
24
08-10-2015 09:23 AM
katier825
Main
24
02-17-2011 08:06 PM
Lisa T
Main
59
01-16-2011 04:03 AM
katier825
Main
11
07-30-2009 08:36 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter


SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.