Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 68

Thread: Which bunny? Opinions please

  1. #1
    Super Member DogHouseMom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Knot Merrill, Southern Indiana
    Posts
    5,713

    Which bunny? Opinions please

    Making a baby quilt for 1st grandson T/B born late September. I am going to applique various bunnies around the bottom, in different positions - possibly add some flowers and butterflies (time permitting).

    My *original* idea was to do the quilt in whites with repro prints and do the bunnies in "bunny colored" home spuns. When the mom-to-be was visiting I took her to the quilt shop for her to show me which colors, fabrics she liked (not picking anything out - just to give me an idea if she liked repro, modern, muted tones etc). Well she loved flannels and she likes brights and told me she wanted bright.

    I happened to have this flannel in my stash (yippee!) so I made a simple "base" top and now I want to applique the bunnies. Once I chose the brights I thought the "bunny colored" (browns, beige - etc) homespuns were going to look odd on the bright quilt top. So I started selecting some batiks from my stash and I was about to cut a bunny out of a chocolate brown and I thought ... there I go selecting BUNNY COLORS!!!

    I piled a selection of the 'bunny colored' batiks on the top, and a selection of different homespuns (blues, greens, yellows - some muted some bright), and I had a sideway's think and grabbed a handful of bright prints as well.

    I asked my husband and he said "bunnies need to be bunny colored - blue bunnies don't exist". The man clearly lacks imagination.

    So ... which do you guys like ...

    Clockwise from top left
    Bunny colored batiks
    Homespuns
    Bright prints

    I'm kinda leaning toward the homespuns which was my original idea.

    Opinions appreciated ... even if it's "none of the above".

    thanks
    May your stitches always be straight, your seams always lie flat, and your grain never be biased against you.

    Sue

  2. #2
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Bosque County, Texas
    Posts
    3,028
    Was there a picture? If mother likes brights, then go for bunnies in your brightest colors. Was bugs bunny realistic? Is Dr Seuss realistic? Few baby things are done in realistic colors. Real rabbits are in colors nature selected to help them blend into the countryside to help them not become supper for a larger animal. Not necessarily the primary reason to select colors for a baby's quilt.

  3. #3
    Super Member DogHouseMom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Knot Merrill, Southern Indiana
    Posts
    5,713
    Sorry ... forgot pic!!!
    Attached Images Attached Images
    May your stitches always be straight, your seams always lie flat, and your grain never be biased against you.

    Sue

  4. #4
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Garland, Texas
    Posts
    1,392
    Okay I love the top left, those are real bunny colors, if you add butterflies and flowers they will add more color so you don't want the bunnies too colorful. I love the quilt so far. Very pretty. Congrats on the upcoming arrival.

  5. #5
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Bosque County, Texas
    Posts
    3,028
    Let me change my answer. That's a cute quilt. Any color rabbit will be cute.

  6. #6
    Super Member gramajo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Peotone IL
    Posts
    2,588
    I like bright bunnies. Mom likes the brighter colors and so do kids.

  7. #7
    Super Member Crqltr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    2,465
    Blog Entries
    2
    I like the real looking best. pretty quilt!

  8. #8
    Super Member burchquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Holmen, WI
    Posts
    7,330
    I dunno... I kinda like the homespuns you picked out for the bunnies. Bunnies can be any color -- hasn't you husband ever seen pastel bunny Peeps? LOL! I know the mom likes bright but this quilt looks to me like its skewing "soft" & I personally love that. I just think this is going to be darling!
    (`v)
    `*..*
    .
    .*).*)
    (.(. (..`..♥ rebecca

  9. #9
    Power Poster Diane007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    12,401
    Blog Entries
    1
    I vote top left

  10. #10
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Roswell, NM
    Posts
    1,636
    I would do the homespun and throw in the tan for one bunny and pick one of the brights--mix it up a little. Great background quilt for the bunnies.
    jackie

  11. #11
    Super Member cindy4857's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Phillips Wisconsin
    Posts
    2,482
    Ok I can see the regular bunny colors as being good or the home spuns, but I defiantly see those brights in the lower left colors as butterfly's and flowers in the grass or even kites in the sky but I think the brights would really make the whole thing pop some extra action. So I vote for reg. bunnies and some added attractions. I love the quilt you made as the back ground it's going to be perfect to do an appl. scene on.
    Cindy

  12. #12
    Super Member Kitsapquilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Port Orchard WA
    Posts
    2,291
    I sure would like to see those bunnies done in those nice little plaids and checks!! But whatever you choose will look great and the Mom will love it!! So will the baby!
    Friendship is a knot
    tied by Angels hands.

    Linda

  13. #13
    Senior Member juneeloonee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    near Rochester, NY
    Posts
    508
    I like the natural bunny colors myself. Will be an adorable quilt whichever way you go!
    The purpose of our lives is to give birth to the best which is within us.
    ~Marianne Williamson

  14. #14
    Super Member laurafet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    1,992
    Don't care much for the homespuns with your beautiful background. I do like the contrast of the bunny colors. I have always been told to make the baby quilts to last longer than infancy, so the bunnies in "cutesy" colors don't always go over well. You have made it bright, so use the bunny colors, and I like EvelynJ's idea of butterflies and maybe a few flowers to add more brights.

  15. #15
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    19,658
    Quote Originally Posted by laurafet View Post
    Don't care much for the homespuns with your beautiful background. I do like the contrast of the bunny colors. I have always been told to make the baby quilts to last longer than infancy, so the bunnies in "cutesy" colors don't always go over well. You have made it bright, so use the bunny colors, and I like EvelynJ's idea of butterflies and maybe a few flowers to add more brights.
    Me,too.

    The background is 'bright' - and the darker colors in the top left contrast nicely with it.

  16. #16
    Super Member pollyjvan9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Posts
    3,026
    Blog Entries
    1
    I like the bright prints, but maybe the homespun is more boyish. I would go with even brighter colors, or add some really, really bright colored flowers, bugs, butterflies, etc. Really great background quilt.

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    460
    like the dark colours so the bunnies will stand out on the beautiful quilt

  18. #18
    Senior Member Swan Song's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    405
    I like the homespuns. I think they will look great on the base quilt. The "bunny" colors I think will be too in your face and pull your eye from the rest of the quilt. If that makes any sense.
    You haven't had enough coffee until you can thread a sewing machine while it's running.

    Those who wish to sing, always find a song. ~Swedish Proverb

  19. #19
    Super Member feline fanatic's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    8,819
    To me it is all about contrast. I liked the natural bunny batiks you have pictured in the upper left corner, for flowers and butterflies your repros. The homespuns don't offer enough contrast IMHO and look a bit washed out next to the bright flannel. If this were mine, I would ditch the repros as well and go for bright jeweltones for the flowers and butterflies. but that is just me.

  20. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    1 Foot AZ - 1 Foot CA
    Posts
    403
    DogHouseMom your "base quilt" is fabulous!!! Please share your finished bunny quilt.

  21. #21
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    oskaloosa,iowa
    Posts
    15
    I like the top left. I think the bunny colors will really pop.

  22. #22
    Junior Member lmc8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    253
    How about using your white repro prints idea for the bunnies, then save the bright florals for the flowers, and combine the batiks and homespuns for the the butterflies.

  23. #23
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Muskogee Oklahoma
    Posts
    263
    I like top left and bottom left; can't you do both? Since you're the one making the quilt, I'd go with what I like. I tend to put off and ultimately not enjoy working on something I don't like. Even though Mom picked out brights, the quilt is from you and that is what's going to make it special to that baby, not the color of the bunnies.

  24. #24
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Southern Indiana
    Posts
    5,040
    I think the real bunny fabrics will show up the best!!

  25. #25
    Super Member SouthPStitches's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    So Plymouth, NY
    Posts
    2,327
    You choose what speaks to you the best. Hate to say it but my hubby's color choices are just horrific. And, for pure argument's sake, has your hubby never heard of "Blue Bunny Ice Cream".......I rest my case.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.