Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 33

Thread: Need opinions please...

  1. #1
    Junior Member QuiltedComforts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Spanaway, WA
    Posts
    188

    Need opinions please...

    I am making a lap quilt for my grandma for Christmas. I just finished the 4 blocks and now I'm unsure what to do... I will be adding 2 borders, which will make it about 58" square. My question is, should I add sashing and cornerstones, or just leave it as it is? Thank you in advance everyone!
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    120
    I think sashing would really show off the blocks. I love the color combination.

  3. #3
    Super Member redquilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    7,930
    Hmmm - I love it the way it is. Great colors! But sashing would work nicely also. Not much help, am I?

  4. #4
    Super Member MartiMorga's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Springville, Tennessee
    Posts
    1,119
    I think sashing a corner stones would really work with this. Why dont you just lay it out with, take a picture, without take a picture and look at them periodically.

  5. #5
    Super Member DogHouseMom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Knot Merrill, Southern Indiana
    Posts
    5,713
    Agree with Marti ... lay it out over the fabric you plan on using for the sashing and see how you like it.
    May your stitches always be straight, your seams always lie flat, and your grain never be biased against you.

    Sue

  6. #6
    Senior Member angiecub's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    518
    I would sash it with a print fabric with both the yellow and blue in it. This is one of my favorite color combinations, and I love the simplicity of your star blocks.

  7. #7
    Super Member busy fingers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    6,261
    Whatever way you go you will end up with a lovely quilt.

  8. #8
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    3,804
    Either way would be pretty. I am sure your grandmother will love it!

    Kat

  9. #9
    Super Member quilts4charity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Albany, Georgia
    Posts
    1,586
    I vote with sashing too, I'd try a blue, yellow print as angiecub said or do a solid blue with yellow cornerstones.

  10. #10
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    California
    Posts
    11,204
    Blog Entries
    2
    Vote for sashing and cornerstones for me. However you decide to do this I am sure that she will love it. You did a good job of the blocks. BrendaK
    Be kind to yourself, by being kind to others. When you help others you help yourself.

  11. #11
    Super Member cwessel47's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Windham, Maine
    Posts
    1,301
    Truly it would work either way. The question is - do you want it larger than you have already planned? Sashing won't make it all that much bigger. I would go with blue sashing and yellow cornerstones though - if you have enough fabric. A little more to cuddle under is never a bad thing.

  12. #12
    Super Member LoisM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Highland, CA
    Posts
    1,403
    My vote is for blue sashing and yellow corner stones.

  13. #13
    Super Member alfosa421's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    up to my eyeballs in UFOs
    Posts
    2,345
    Blog Entries
    3
    I would say yes to both washing and cornerstones

  14. #14
    Senior Member Granny Quilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    WY
    Posts
    995
    Quote Originally Posted by Judyth View Post
    I think sashing would really show off the blocks. I love the color combination.
    Yes sashing please.

  15. #15
    Super Member ArtsyOne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Canadian in Minnesota
    Posts
    2,117
    Sashing would really set off the blocks. Great colors!
    A fabric stash is always missing that one fabric needed to finish the quilt on which you're working.

  16. #16
    Power Poster Diane007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    12,396
    Blog Entries
    1
    I vote for sashing and corner stones....

  17. #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    136
    I just have to tell you that the stars you made are beautiful. You do lovely work, and I know that whatever you decide it will be perfect. Please post your finished quilt! Can't wait!

  18. #18
    Super Member Chris Anders's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Pleasant Hill, Louisiana
    Posts
    1,263
    Blog Entries
    2
    I agree lay it out on top of your backing and see what it looks like . I think you will like sashing Very pretty.
    Have a Blessed & Prosperous Day !
    Chris.


  19. #19
    Power Poster Jingle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Outside St. Louis
    Posts
    28,400
    Beautiful blocks, stars look perfect.
    Another Phyllis
    This life is the only one you get - enjoy it before you lose it.

  20. #20
    Super Member HillCountryGal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    The beautiful Texas hill country.
    Posts
    1,261
    Beautiful work!
    Are you going to us a print for the backing? Maybe it could coordinate with the blue, white and yellow.
    A very nice gift you are creating!

  21. #21
    Senior Member broomstix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Wisc.
    Posts
    541
    i too, vote for sashing ,cornerstone. But it already looks great. you have done a terriffic job on the stars.
    she will love it.

  22. #22
    Junior Member Bataplai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Western Washington
    Posts
    274
    I'm also voting for sashing and cornerstones.
    Beautiful blocks - very nice work!

  23. #23
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    McArthur, Ohio
    Posts
    70
    this is just a suggestion , watch a video on missour star quilt company called the big star

  24. #24
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Snohomish WA
    Posts
    868
    Blog Entries
    15
    As for borders: how about one narrow gold inner border and then a wider blue border around the outside?
    You've done very nice work.

  25. #25
    Power Poster earthwalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    10,285
    Firstly, your blocks are beautifully made. As for sashing and whatnot, well, depends on you and of course Grandma's taste. Try laying the stars over some different fabrics, leave them for a bit (I put them on the dining table and cruise past regularly). Whatever you decide, will be just perfect. Don't forget to show us when you are done....we love pics.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.