Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Machine Embroidery
Embroidery Machines Lets Chat & Have Fun >

Embroidery Machines Lets Chat & Have Fun

Embroidery Machines Lets Chat & Have Fun

Old 04-10-2013, 05:10 AM

I am new to machine embroidery and love it! But, learning how to do machine embroidery has been a bit overwhelming for me. I have been experimenting with different stabilizers and I still get some puckering. I've read a few places, that you get more puckering with poly thread than rayon thread. Is this true? I'm using madeira poly thread and have had no breakages but am wondering if I should switch to rayon?
Old 04-10-2013, 05:14 AM

Originally Posted by Auntevie View Post
I am new to machine embroidery and love it! But, learning how to do machine embroidery has been a bit overwhelming for me. I have been experimenting with different stabilizers and I still get some puckering. I've read a few places, that you get more puckering with poly thread than rayon thread. Is this true? I'm using madeira poly thread and have had no breakages but am wondering if I should switch to rayon?
How many stitches are in your design. I find that if I use a layer of stablizer for every 10,000 stitches I have less puckering. I do use the Madeira Rayon thread.
Old 04-10-2013, 05:47 AM

I found this article helpful.
http://www.emblibrary.com/EL/elproje...log=elprojects
Old 04-10-2013, 10:02 AM

Snipforfun...Thank you for the link to the article! Ive read it before and it was really helpful but was good to read again. Sophie2...do you use rayon thread instead of poly for a reason? Do you think its better or causes less puckering?
Old 04-10-2013, 10:24 AM

Snipforfun...Thank you for the link to the article! Ive read it before and it was really helpful but was good to read again. Sophie2...do you use rayon thread instead of poly for a reason? Do you think its better or causes less puckering?