Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 76 to 100 of 115

Thread: EQ7/EQ8 Tips, Q&A here!

  1. #76
    Super Member eparys's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    New England, USA
    Posts
    2,475
    Quote Originally Posted by lyndaj View Post
    Looking for help with a panel. I am trying to create a quilt around a panel and can’t seem to figure out if EQ8 can even do this. Many thanks.
    Maybe someone else has a more elegant solution, but this is how I do it. As I find the custom layout awkward, I create a quilt with one block the size of the panel, then add borders to that. Sometime you need to play around with the size of the panel so that your blocks in the border aren't a funky size. Like - if your panel is 27x42 and you are thinking 6" blocks then the center needs to be 30x42. Then I decide how big I want the quilt and add borders - remember you can add a border to any side individually, in pairs, 3 out of 4 or all four at once to get your desired size and shape. I use either the blocks or tiles option. When I go to sew it - I will add extra fabric to make the panel the size I need it to be. Hope this helps.
    Betty

    A quilt will warm your body and comfort your soul.

    http://notesfrommoosehaven.blogspot.com

  2. #77
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    47
    Club EQ has an article that shows how to design around a panel: https://doyoueq.com/blog/2017/12/club-eq-using-panels/. I'm not sure if this is exactly what you're looking for, but hopefully it proves helpful.

  3. #78
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    47,641
    Blog Entries
    53
    Quote Originally Posted by Groucho View Post
    Club EQ has an article that shows how to design around a panel: https://doyoueq.com/blog/2017/12/club-eq-using-panels/. I'm not sure if this is exactly what you're looking for, but hopefully it proves helpful.
    so it looks like the EQ club does it the same way eparys and I do it.
    Nancy in western NY
    before you speak T.H.I.N.K.
    T is it True? H is it Helpful? I is it Inspiring? N is it Necessary? K is it Kind?

    Life may not be the party we hoped for, but while we are here we might as well dance.

  4. #79
    Senior Member lyric girl's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    318
    Quote Originally Posted by Groucho View Post
    Club EQ has an article that shows how to design around a panel: https://doyoueq.com/blog/2017/12/club-eq-using-panels/. I'm not sure if this is exactly what you're looking for, but hopefully it proves helpful.
    Thanks so much for this.

  5. #80
    Senior Member lyric girl's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    318
    Quote Originally Posted by QuiltnNan View Post
    so it looks like the EQ club does it the same way eparys and I do it.
    What or who is eparys?

  6. #81
    Super Member eparys's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    New England, USA
    Posts
    2,475
    Quote Originally Posted by lyric girl View Post
    What or who is eparys?
    LOL - eparys is me!! I replied just above groucho (post #76)
    Betty

    A quilt will warm your body and comfort your soul.

    http://notesfrommoosehaven.blogspot.com

  7. #82
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    47,641
    Blog Entries
    53
    Quote Originally Posted by lyric girl View Post
    What or who is eparys?
    the member who posted post #76
    Nancy in western NY
    before you speak T.H.I.N.K.
    T is it True? H is it Helpful? I is it Inspiring? N is it Necessary? K is it Kind?

    Life may not be the party we hoped for, but while we are here we might as well dance.

  8. #83
    Member craftyjulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Southern Oregon
    Posts
    94
    I’ve had my EQ7 for a few years but have only designed one easy quilt with it & have found it to be a frustrating program even though I’m pretty computer savvy. My biggest problem right now I have is the difficulty with printing 12” foundation pieced blocks. In EQ8 have they fixed it where you can rotate the pieces to better place them on the paper to print? I’m still on the fence about upgrading. Do you have any suggestions of the best videos that show you the differences between EQ7 & EQ8?

  9. #84
    Super Member eparys's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    New England, USA
    Posts
    2,475
    Hopefully others will jump in here with their opinions as well, but I will start. I was not a fan of the upgrade. I bought it when it was first released. When I started using it, I hated it. I have grown to like it now. Some things that I like is the rotation in foundation printing and when coloring blocks, if you go back and remove a seam the colors stay put and are not shuffled. There are several other features that make it easier to work with such as in the Print Foundation dialogue the grouped pieces are colored.

    I find the new interface cluttered looking, however, and the pane that has the tools in them is large. You can choose in properties to have smaller tools or to dock the pane to either the right or the left but I have not found a setting in properties to make it smaller. I am now comfortable where everything is and for the most part am glad I went ahead and did the update as a lot of what I do is paper piecing.

    Back to EQ8 Upgrade - It is all about the $$ in my mind. While the upgrade is nice, 7 is still a good program with a few workarounds. When I used EQ7 exclusively, I found (as you have noted) that the program printed the blocks the same orientation as they are shown in the quilt. What I did to get around that is to create a second quilt with identical sized blocks. If my real quilt was on point, I often found the foundation spread across four pages.So, I created another smaller quilt horizontally and placed my blocks in that quilt and printed from there. Then before I printed I could change the groupings so that they were smaller or move them around to minimize the amount of taping. Then, for the most part, the groups were straight on the page and not too large.

    While I did not find a video,if you go to the page as if to purchase the update,
    https://electricquilt.com/online-sho.../#tab-Features
    then click on the features tab half way down that page, all the new features are listed there. Good luck with your decision.
    Betty

    A quilt will warm your body and comfort your soul.

    http://notesfrommoosehaven.blogspot.com

  10. #85
    Super Member quiltingshorttimer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    kansas
    Posts
    4,792
    Blog Entries
    37
    hmm..QB and I seem to be having issues tonight--so here is the post that I thought got posted! Yes, EQ8 allows you to more and rotate the template pieces. I frankly find the EQ8 much easier to use after the initial learning curve. While I worked for the last 25 years with computers daily, including 2 different complex scheduling programs, I found EQ7 not easy to use. I like EQ8 better and have used it more. I did invest in the lesson books offered by EQ for both EQ7 &EQ8--they are very good and become great reference books.
    Last edited by quiltingshorttimer; 11-19-2018 at 07:33 PM.

  11. #86
    Member craftyjulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Southern Oregon
    Posts
    94
    I have a question. I’m building a quilt with 12” blocks, all different, but every one of them is going to be surrounded by a 1” border in a variety of colors. I would prefer to design my blocks on a 12” worktable & add the 1” border in later. It’s also going to have sashing so I can’t add the borders that way or is there a way to do more than one thing of sashing? I see under Serendipity there’s a “Frame block” & I chose the smallest option but I don’t see it being able to be adjusted to 1”. Also, does that cut down the interior of my block so it’s no longer 12” because it adds it with the frame to the final choice of block size? I hope what I’m saying is making sense. Should I just make my blocks 13” & add the border around it myself so the size comes out accurately? I’ve already made most the blocks, not from EQ7 but on my own & am going to try to go back & draw & add them into the program. They’re almost all paper pieced so that’s another problem. If the program skews the inches off if I add the frame then any foundation I print will be off for next time so it’s imperative the blocks stay at 12”.
    I am going to try to upgrade to EQ8 after playing around with 7 for the last week & working through one of the books. 7 just has too many glitches where I’ve suddenly been missing lines or things won’t select without me having to refresh. Thanks for any help in advanced. I’m a real newbie at EQ but am pretty computer smart so hopefully I can figure it out with a little assistance here. Maybe someone knows of a tutorial or video even?

  12. #87
    Super Member eparys's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    New England, USA
    Posts
    2,475
    I would use the "merge" option rather than "frame the block". First create a separate block 14x14 with the one inch border only. Then merge the two together. You should get what you want that way.
    Betty

    A quilt will warm your body and comfort your soul.

    http://notesfrommoosehaven.blogspot.com

  13. #88
    Member craftyjulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Southern Oregon
    Posts
    94
    Quote Originally Posted by eparys View Post
    I would use the "merge" option rather than "frame the block". First create a separate block 14x14 with the one inch border only. Then merge the two together. You should get what you want that way.
    Wow. So elegantly simple. Thank you!

  14. #89
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    47,641
    Blog Entries
    53
    Quote Originally Posted by craftyjulz View Post
    I have a question. I’m building a quilt with 12” blocks, all different, but every one of them is going to be surrounded by a 1” border in a variety of colors. I would prefer to design my blocks on a 12” worktable & add the 1” border in later. It’s also going to have sashing so I can’t add the borders that way or is there a way to do more than one thing of sashing? I see under Serendipity there’s a “Frame block” & I chose the smallest option but I don’t see it being able to be adjusted to 1”. Also, does that cut down the interior of my block so it’s no longer 12” because it adds it with the frame to the final choice of block size? I hope what I’m saying is making sense. Should I just make my blocks 13” & add the border around it myself so the size comes out accurately? I’ve already made most the blocks, not from EQ7 but on my own & am going to try to go back & draw & add them into the program. They’re almost all paper pieced so that’s another problem. If the program skews the inches off if I add the frame then any foundation I print will be off for next time so it’s imperative the blocks stay at 12”.
    I am going to try to upgrade to EQ8 after playing around with 7 for the last week & working through one of the books. 7 just has too many glitches where I’ve suddenly been missing lines or things won’t select without me having to refresh. Thanks for any help in advanced. I’m a real newbie at EQ but am pretty computer smart so hopefully I can figure it out with a little assistance here. Maybe someone knows of a tutorial or video even?
    Quote Originally Posted by eparys View Post
    I would use the "merge" option rather than "frame the block". First create a separate block 14x14 with the one inch border only. Then merge the two together. You should get what you want that way.
    Wow! Thanks for talking about Serendipity... I have never gone there and I can't tell you how many timnes that would have been useful!
    Nancy in western NY
    before you speak T.H.I.N.K.
    T is it True? H is it Helpful? I is it Inspiring? N is it Necessary? K is it Kind?

    Life may not be the party we hoped for, but while we are here we might as well dance.

  15. #90
    Member craftyjulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Southern Oregon
    Posts
    94
    It’s early for Christmas but I got my EQ8 gift from my mom since she had to use my name & info for an upgrade instead of straight out buying it on its own. She did it now because during cyber Monday they had a 20% off sale. I’m sew happy with it already. I do have to wait for Christmas for the book about designing quilts with it though. It’s not as different from EQ7 as I thought it would be so the transition has been pretty smooth.

  16. #91
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    89
    I use EQ8 and think that it's really made the program much easier to use with many more options visible on the (for example) block worktable - It's really easy to draw your own new york beauty or other blocks that have triangles on an arc. I keep EQStitch and use it for embroidery designs. The Facebook group for Electric Quilt users has very knowledgeable and helpful people on it who always answer questions and their support team at EQ is wonderful. One thing I would recommend is that after you save a project, also go to File-Export Image and save an image of the quilt with almost the same name (ie. if the project is Christmas18, then one image could be Christmas18_runner, another could be Christmas18_treequilt1, etc...) The reason I know is that when I'm looking for an old quilt from EQ5, I have to almost open every project in order to search for the quilt!!

  17. #92
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    89
    "Looking for help with a panel. I am trying to create a quilt around a panel and can’t seem to figure out if EQ8 can even do this. Many thanks."
    A friend of mine was at a panel workshop and the advice there was to think about what your next border would be and the size and then trim the panel to the correct size - even if you are cutting off several inches.

  18. #93
    Super Member eparys's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    New England, USA
    Posts
    2,475
    Quote Originally Posted by LaurMac View Post
    "Looking for help with a panel. I am trying to create a quilt around a panel and can’t seem to figure out if EQ8 can even do this. Many thanks."
    A friend of mine was at a panel workshop and the advice there was to think about what your next border would be and the size and then trim the panel to the correct size - even if you are cutting off several inches.
    LaurMac - you can do that - look at post #76 above. As long as your panel is smaller than 48" square you can can treat it as one block. As to the advice given to your friend, that seems kind of wasteful. Sometimes I add a small frame to the panel to make it the size I can deal with.
    Betty

    A quilt will warm your body and comfort your soul.

    http://notesfrommoosehaven.blogspot.com

  19. #94
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    89

    editing EQ7 appliques

    "I have EQ7 and would like to design my own applique blocks. I draw what I want on paper or get pictures from coloring books. I can scan to my computer and then I know how to get them into the program but I am having a terrible time using the drawing tools. My question is, is there a trick or easier way to trace or draw them so I can print the templates."
    Another idea would be to use the applique patterns in the block library and edit them. There is a lot of leeway with that tool.
    Attached Images Attached Images


  20. #95
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    great yarmoth UK
    Posts
    26
    Does EQ help with fabric required .i am interested in this does it tell you how Much fabric you need as I find i can't work it out

  21. #96
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    The Deep South near Cajun Country, USA
    Posts
    3,790
    Quote Originally Posted by eparys View Post
    LaurMac - you can do that - look at post #76 above. As long as your panel is smaller than 48" square you can can treat it as one block. As to the advice given to your friend, that seems kind of wasteful. Sometimes I add a small frame to the panel to make it the size I can deal with.
    I found out recently that the center panel can be bigger than 48 inches. I have changed my settings to 100.

    In EQ7, go to the quilt worktable. Click on "Quilt" (middle of the top row of words), then click on the last option "Quilt Worktable Options", "Layout Options", "All Styles". Change the first item from 48 to up to 100. Knowing this has made my life a lot simpler.
    Last edited by Barb in Louisiana; 02-01-2019 at 04:14 PM.
    Sew a Little, Love a Lot & Live like you were dying!

  22. #97
    Super Member eparys's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    New England, USA
    Posts
    2,475
    sewingeveryday" the short answer is yes. You build the quilt with the blocks sized correctly, then add your sashing and borders if you choose. Once you have the quilt set up the way you want, you can print estimated yardage.
    Betty

    A quilt will warm your body and comfort your soul.

    http://notesfrommoosehaven.blogspot.com

  23. #98
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Location
    great yarmoth UK
    Posts
    26
    eparys thank you

  24. #99
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    47,641
    Blog Entries
    53
    Quote Originally Posted by Barb in Louisiana View Post
    I found out recently that the center panel can be bigger than 48 inches. I have changed my settings to 100.

    In EQ7, go to the quilt worktable. Click on "Quilt" (middle of the top row of words), then click on the last option "Quilt Worktable Options", "Layout Options", "All Styles". Change the first item from 48 to up to 100. Knowing this has made my life a lot simpler.
    I had forgotten this. Thanks for the reminder. I was actually trying to make a bigger center just last week.
    Nancy in western NY
    before you speak T.H.I.N.K.
    T is it True? H is it Helpful? I is it Inspiring? N is it Necessary? K is it Kind?

    Life may not be the party we hoped for, but while we are here we might as well dance.

  25. #100
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    47,641
    Blog Entries
    53
    Quote Originally Posted by eparys View Post
    sewingeveryday" the short answer is yes. You build the quilt with the blocks sized correctly, then add your sashing and borders if you choose. Once you have the quilt set up the way you want, you can print estimated yardage.
    I have found that EQ often overestimates the yardage. I think one of the reasons is HSTs. the estimator counts a full square when making one HST, and I make my HSTs two out of one square. There may be other reasons for the estimations, but I have never found it to underestimate.
    Nancy in western NY
    before you speak T.H.I.N.K.
    T is it True? H is it Helpful? I is it Inspiring? N is it Necessary? K is it Kind?

    Life may not be the party we hoped for, but while we are here we might as well dance.

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.