Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 4 5
Results 101 to 115 of 115

Thread: EQ7/EQ8 Tips, Q&A here!

  1. #101
    Power Poster oksewglad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Between the dashes of a tombstone
    Posts
    11,293
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Barb in Louisiana View Post
    I found out recently that the center panel can be bigger than 48 inches. I have changed my settings to 100.

    In EQ7, go to the quilt worktable. Click on "Quilt" (middle of the top row of words), then click on the last option "Quilt Worktable Options", "Layout Options", "All Styles". Change the first item from 48 to up to 100. Knowing this has made my life a lot simpler.
    I've had EQ for years and use it regularly...thanks for this tip. One can also change number of maximum blocks in horizontal and vertical settings...wow my life will be simpler as well.

    Yes, like QuiltNan mentions, it overestimates. But it's still handy to use and gives one a general idea of maximum amount of fabric rather than minimum amount.
    Last edited by oksewglad; 02-04-2019 at 08:27 AM.
    Don't worry spider.
    I keep house
    casually.
    ---Basho
    Nothing's too small...I love miniatures.

  2. #102
    Super Member gale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    North-Central Indiana
    Posts
    4,750
    Blog Entries
    1
    Does anyone here use EQ stitch with EQ 7 (or 8, if it works with that)? I have so much trouble with it and any time I ask for help I feel like I'm the only one. Mainly I have trouble with stitchery parts disappearing, won't change the stitch style/color, things like that. Sometimes with font letters or numbers stitching out weird.

  3. #103
    Super Member Teen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    4,046
    I have been wanting to purchase this program for awhile now and this week I finally did. I just downloaded EQ8 tonight and did the first lesson. Read this complete thread....very helpful. Probably make more sense once I dive in and recognize some of the terms and functions you'all are talking about. Lol... I'll be watching tutorials over the next few days and I'm just going to play. So excited.
    Quilting therapy for the therapist...
    My Summertime Swap blocks: https://www.quiltingboard.com/member...bums19923.html

  4. #104
    Super Member eparys's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    New England, USA
    Posts
    2,477
    The best way to learn it is to use it! I love mine and use it all the time. In addition to doing the lessons, EQ has a great Blog -

    https://doyoueq.com/blog/

    In the blog they have links to "Lessons with Lori", "lessons with Yvonne", "Design and Discover" and "Block Spotlight". All worth while looking at!
    Betty

    A quilt will warm your body and comfort your soul.

    http://notesfrommoosehaven.blogspot.com

  5. #105
    Super Member Teen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    4,046
    Thank you for the direction, eparys! Watched a few videos last night. So much to learn.
    Quilting therapy for the therapist...
    My Summertime Swap blocks: https://www.quiltingboard.com/member...bums19923.html

  6. #106
    Power Poster oksewglad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Between the dashes of a tombstone
    Posts
    11,293
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Teen View Post
    I have been wanting to purchase this program for awhile now and this week I finally did. I just downloaded EQ8 tonight and did the first lesson. Read this complete thread....very helpful. Probably make more sense once I dive in and recognize some of the terms and functions you'all are talking about. Lol... I'll be watching tutorials over the next few days and I'm just going to play. So excited.
    Well I can guarantee that you will be spending "quilting" time at the computer now! A productive way to stay out of packed boxes, Teen! Enjoy your journey with EQ..I have soooo many quilts in the program. I love it for when I put blocks together and need to figure out borders...especially with on point blocks. It does all the calculations for you and I can easily figure out how much fabric I minimally need to cut those borders and if I have enough in the chunk of fabric laying the pile of possibilities! I really need to get comfortable with custom designed layouts, but that's a discussion for another day. Enjoy...enjoy...enjoy!
    Don't worry spider.
    I keep house
    casually.
    ---Basho
    Nothing's too small...I love miniatures.

  7. #107
    Super Member Teen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    4,046
    Well..I dove right into the deep end with this program and about 85% done on a custom design. I have been making a series of Paper pieced blocks of all different sizes for some time now. When I see a vintage pattern, I just buy it or print if freebie and use my vintage fabrics....I've amassed a bunch of blocks but had no clue what to do with them.....so, I'm designing a quilt for them. Had some glitches but, for the most part, I watched tutorials and played. I imported my fabrics and uploaded my blocks. Overall, I think I did fairly well. I've got some additional blocks to make for fillers but I now know the sizes I need to make and the colors to use. I'm pretty excited.

    I have one question tho...The original layout was 48x48 (default)..Since I had no clue how big to make this, I started setting blocks and adjusting them. When I realized I needed to make it bigger, I went to the layout tab and resized quilt size, check marked the box that locks in the block sizes...however, when I returned to the quilt design tab, all my blocks resized to odd measurements. What did I do wrong?

    Edit to add: not sure if this info is needed but I set my grid size for,2 inches. This did not change when I reconfigured the quilt size.
    Last edited by Teen; 03-05-2019 at 09:37 PM.
    Quilting therapy for the therapist...
    My Summertime Swap blocks: https://www.quiltingboard.com/member...bums19923.html

  8. #108
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    47,814
    Blog Entries
    53
    Not sure I understand all that you said. I start with making a block. I set the block size and then tab over to snaps and make those 4x the block size... this usually covers all diagonal lines. then save the block drawing, go to Color and save that. Next I go to the quilt layout. If you are using the default layout, I than go to the layout tab and choose my rows and columns of blocks, checking the size in the bottom, getting it close to what I want. I nudge to my desired size with sashing a borders. I hope this helps with what you asked.
    Nancy in western NY
    before you speak T.H.I.N.K.
    T – is it True? H – is it Helpful? I – is it Inspiring? N – is it Necessary? K – is it Kind?

    Life may not be the party we hoped for, but while we are here we might as well dance.

  9. #109
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    SW, MI
    Posts
    634
    Blog Entries
    16
    OMG I bit the bullet and just got EQ8 a couple of weeks ago - and stumbled through a couple of ideas. I wanted to insert another row on the left (like in Excel) and couldn't figure out how. So, now I haven't been back into the program. So glad to see this thread and I'm anxious to go through the whole thing tonight when I have time.

  10. #110
    Super Member eparys's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    New England, USA
    Posts
    2,477
    Quote Originally Posted by Teen View Post
    .....

    I have one question tho...The original layout was 48x48 (default)..Since I had no clue how big to make this, I started setting blocks and adjusting them. When I realized I needed to make it bigger, I went to the layout tab and resized quilt size, check marked the box that locks in the block sizes...however, when I returned to the quilt design tab, all my blocks resized to odd measurements. What did I do wrong?
    If you choose one of the standard layouts like horizontal or on point just changing the number of row or columns will not affect the block size. My guess is that you are in Custom which is a bit trickier. If all your blocks are the same size you may want to use a standard layout. I played around with Custom this morning and could not recreate what you described, so I myself do not have a clue -lol. I would start a new quilt and try it again. My guess is that one of those many little options in the Adjust tab under Block Tools got inadvertently changed.

    Quote Originally Posted by Teen View Post
    Edit to add: not sure if this info is needed but I set my grid size for,2 inches. This did not change when I reconfigured the quilt size.
    In Custom I start off with mine set at 1/2.
    Betty

    A quilt will warm your body and comfort your soul.

    http://notesfrommoosehaven.blogspot.com

  11. #111
    Super Member Teen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    4,046
    Thank you both, QuiltnNan & eparys..

    I will try to recreate and see where I went wrong.. Because my block sizes are all different and will be a scattered design, I started in the "custom design" layout. I must have clicked something, as you've said, eparys. I've finished the design but I'm sure I'll be designing custom again. I can see how setting grid size to 1/2" would be more helpful. That was so fun.

    cindyb....have fun...it is so addicting and this thread so helpful.
    Quilting therapy for the therapist...
    My Summertime Swap blocks: https://www.quiltingboard.com/member...bums19923.html

  12. #112
    Super Member Teen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    4,046
    I know you'all warned me but...seriously...EQ8 is so addicting. I finished the quilt that I did the custom design on and it's at the LA now. I had to figure out how to design it in sections so I could assembled the thing easily. Really helped me visualize the segments more easily. Lol.. I am so excited about my quilt. I mean, I Didn't design the blocks themselves ...Other designer's block patterns...but bringing all those different sized blocks, adding filler designs, etc. was all done by me. I learned a few things I would do differently now that I know the program a bit more. Short cuts I didn't realize etc. I have watched so many tutorials. Anywhoo...thought I'd share and will share picture of quilt with board when binded... I played more today designing a pattern for some ombré fabrics. So fun...
    Quilting therapy for the therapist...
    My Summertime Swap blocks: https://www.quiltingboard.com/member...bums19923.html

  13. #113
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    47,814
    Blog Entries
    53
    congrats on a successful design and finish. Sometimes it's better to just jump right in!
    Nancy in western NY
    before you speak T.H.I.N.K.
    T – is it True? H – is it Helpful? I – is it Inspiring? N – is it Necessary? K – is it Kind?

    Life may not be the party we hoped for, but while we are here we might as well dance.

  14. #114
    Super Member Battle Axe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Northeastern Indiana
    Posts
    2,252
    Blog Entries
    1
    Essenhause in Middlebury, IN has moved their quilt store from a tiny cramped space in the Corn Crib to the three stories of the old furniture building. I have not seen it yet, but the word is that there is a floor for classes. It brings up all sorts of wonderful thoughts. MIddlebury is near Shipshewana where there are about X number of quilting shops including Yoders and Lollys. I want to be the first one in the door on Monday to take a peek and I'll let you all know. What I'm looking for is a hands on Eq 8 workshop. I left part of my cranial function somewhere along the way and will need someone looking over my shoulder. Marcia

  15. #115
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    The Deep South near Cajun Country, USA
    Posts
    3,837
    Quote Originally Posted by cindyb View Post
    OMG I bit the bullet and just got EQ8 a couple of weeks ago - and stumbled through a couple of ideas. I wanted to insert another row on the left (like in Excel) and couldn't figure out how. So, now I haven't been back into the program. So glad to see this thread and I'm anxious to go through the whole thing tonight when I have time.
    I work in EQ7. When I change the blocks per row or height, it always adds the extra blocks to the right and the bottom, never the left or the top. To get around this, I insert a block border and if I want the row on the left, I would change from "All" being checked to L+R . Then you change the R measurement to 0 and the left one to the block width you need. You have to tell it how many blocks will be in the border. Not sure how to get to this in EQ8.
    Sew a Little, Love a Lot & Live like you were dying!

Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 4 5

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.