Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
EQ7/EQ8 Tips, Q&A here! >

EQ7/EQ8 Tips, Q&A here!

EQ7/EQ8 Tips, Q&A here!

Old 04-13-2018, 08:59 AM
  #41  
Super Member
 
Watson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 4,348
Default

Anyone want a puzzle to solve to practice?

The original quilt ends up 96x108 with 12" blocks.
I want to add a 6" border, but still end up with 96x108. (Or close to.)

The fabric requirements for the original are:

7 1/4 yards white
3 3/4 yards colour #1
3 3/4 yards colour #2.
The border will be done in Colour #1.

How much fabric do I need?
And, how many blocks will I make?

Can the programme even do this or am I asking too much?

Any help appreciated, because it's hurting my brain.

Thanks,

Watson
Watson is offline  
Old 04-13-2018, 10:40 AM
  #42  
Power Poster
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Western Wisconsin
Posts: 12,930
Default

The blocks I can figure out. 96" x 108", made up of 12" blocks, is 8 blocks x 9 blocks = 72 blocks for the original quilt. A 6" border on each side is equal to a single 12" block. Therefore, the new quilt of the same size with a 6" border would be 7 blocks x 8 blocks = 56 blocks for the new quilt.

Have to have another cup of coffee before tackling the yardage.

Edit: Okay, 56/72 = .7777. This means the new quilt blocks comprise about 80% of the old quilt blocks. You can take 80% of the old yardage to figure out the new yardage requirements.

80% of 7.25 yards = 5.8 yards. You could round down to 5-3/4 yards because 80% is a little more than 77%; however, without knowing the number and shapes of the individual pieces, it is safer to round up to 6 yards.

80% of 3.75 yards = 3 yards. For the same reasons as above, I would round up to 3-1/8 yards or 3-1/4 yards.

More coffee needed before I add the border fabric.

Edit 2: I am calculating an additional 2 yards of fabric for the border assuming the 6" strips are cut WOF and pieced to length. Hopefully someone else will check those calculations, as I do not trust my brain at this point.

Last edited by Prism99; 04-13-2018 at 10:59 AM.
Prism99 is offline  
Old 04-13-2018, 12:36 PM
  #43  
Super Member
 
Watson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 4,348
Default

Thanks, Prism!

I really appreciate the help.

Watson
Watson is offline  
Old 04-17-2018, 06:41 PM
  #44  
Power Poster
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Western Wisconsin
Posts: 12,930
Default

I've got another question. What is the difference between PatchDraw and EasyDraw? I mean, why do they have both?

I finally finished lesson #1 in the EQ7 Pieced Drawing book (thanks to eparys). It was all in PatchDraw. I thought EasyDraw was easier to use (having been able to figure it out from the Kari Schell video's).

Why do they have both? Can you do some things in PatchDraw that you can't do in EasyDraw?
Prism99 is offline  
Old 04-18-2018, 02:28 AM
  #45  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: ontario,canada
Posts: 474
Default

hope this helps-

http://doyoueq.com/blog/2016/02/quic...es-of-drawing/
coffeecozy is offline  
Old 04-18-2018, 12:22 PM
  #46  
Power Poster
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Western Wisconsin
Posts: 12,930
Default

Thanks so much, coffee! That is exactly what I wanted to know.
Prism99 is offline  
Old 04-27-2018, 07:57 AM
  #47  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 125
Default

I believe that EQ8 is like going from manual shift in a car to automatic transmission. They have made it that much easier
LaurMac is offline  
Old 04-27-2018, 08:05 AM
  #48  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 125
Default

I still have EQStitch for my embroidery stuff. Borders - if you click on it, you can see the size and that helps you know what size blocks you can fit in. I'm not in front of my computer, so I can't show a screen shot. I found it great to draw up our guild's block of the month and learned a lot that way.
LaurMac is offline  
Old 04-27-2018, 08:13 AM
  #49  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 125
Default

Easy draw is great for patchwork
Basic lines have to go to outside edges. And think about your divisions before setting the size. Ex. For 9 patch, set size at easily divisions of 3 - 6 inches with grid at 12, 12 and next boxes at 24, 24. For 5 inch, use 10, 10, 20, 20.
Patchdraw is good when you want to use just applique shapes.
I use both to do a pieced background then add shapes on top.
LaurMac is offline  
Old 05-13-2018, 04:56 AM
  #50  
Member
 
LAHH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Noblesville, IN
Posts: 16
Default

I just bought an Accuquilt GO for cutting, but usually use EQ8 for designing my quilts. Is there a way to still design the quilts in EQ8, but have it print out the directions for cutting in Accuquilt shapes?
LAHH is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
RoslynK
Main
8
08-17-2015 02:03 PM
Rhonda
Main
8
11-08-2012 11:29 PM
Johanna Fritz
Links and Resources
4
08-30-2012 12:08 PM
CarolinePaj
Pictures
90
02-13-2011 12:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter