Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
EQ7/EQ8 Tips, Q&A here! >

EQ7/EQ8 Tips, Q&A here!

EQ7/EQ8 Tips, Q&A here!

Old 05-14-2018, 05:40 AM
  #51  
Moderator
 
QuiltnNan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
Posts: 51,123
Default

I designed the Carpenters Wheel as a square quilt in EQ7. Then I wanted to add rows for the size I changed my mind about. Is there a way to shift the blocks downward to center the design in the new size? Here is a picture of where I am:
carpenters-star-shift-downward-eq-question.bmp
__________________
Nancy in western NY
before you speak T.H.I.N.K. T is it True? H is it Helpful? I is it Inspiring? N is it Necessary? K is it Kind?
Life may not be the party we hoped for, but while we are here we might as well dance.
QuiltnNan is offline  
Old 05-14-2018, 07:05 AM
  #52  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: The Deep South near Cajun Country, USA
Posts: 4,387
Default

Originally Posted by QuiltnNan View Post
I designed the Carpenters Wheel as a square quilt in EQ7. Then I wanted to add rows for the size I changed my mind about. Is there a way to shift the blocks downward to center the design in the new size? Here is a picture of where I am:
Attachment 594415
I hope there is a way because this has been a continuing problem for me. First thing I could think of would be to add pieced block borders at the top so that each border (top only) becomes a part of the body of the quilt.
Barb in Louisiana is offline  
Old 05-14-2018, 07:16 AM
  #53  
Moderator
 
QuiltnNan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
Posts: 51,123
Default

Originally Posted by Barb in Louisiana View Post
I hope there is a way because this has been a continuing problem for me. First thing I could think of would be to add pieced block borders at the top so that each border (top only) becomes a part of the body of the quilt.
of couse! thank you. but i'd still like to know about 'shifting' the blocks because i'd run into this before where the 'borders' solution would not work.
__________________
Nancy in western NY
before you speak T.H.I.N.K. T is it True? H is it Helpful? I is it Inspiring? N is it Necessary? K is it Kind?
Life may not be the party we hoped for, but while we are here we might as well dance.
QuiltnNan is offline  
Old 05-14-2018, 09:47 AM
  #54  
Power Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Between the dashes of a tombstone
Posts: 12,079
Default

QuiltnNan...make your layout 8 x 8 blocks and you will have your central square.

In Borders, make them the width of the blocks (ie 6" border for a 6" finished HST block). Your border style selection is not Long Horizontal, but Blocks from the Drop Down menu. Then list how many blocks you want in the horizontal and vertical borders (at the bottom of the Borders Dialog box). If you need additional borders to increase overall quilt size you can...you can make the vertical borders narrower or 0" and the top and bottom the width you need. I hope this is clear enough for you.
oksewglad is offline  
Old 05-15-2018, 06:15 PM
  #55  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: kansas
Posts: 5,702
Default

Anyone having trouble updating their EQ8? I was and after working with Matthew at Tech support, I was able to do this--he had me uninstall the one I'd tried to install and then re-install--worked fine. If you are like me, just send an email and they will send you the directions. I did end up calling him cause my computer was not wanting to let it uninstall and re-install--had to tell my security program to allow anything from EQ! Also spent some time last night transferring all the fabric swatches I'd downloaded directly from Manufacturers websites to EQ 7 to EQ8--now I'm ready to roll!
quiltingshorttimer is offline  
Old 06-30-2018, 05:30 AM
  #56  
Member
 
JakesMama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Da UP
Posts: 32
Default

I had EQ7 for a while (before my annual hard drive crash last year) and it just bugged me that it took so many steps to do simple tasks. The makers of the software claim EQ8 is much more intuitive than EQ7. Has anyone found that to be the case? I am considering buying EQ8, but as with most things, I would like to know what other users think of it. Thanks.
JakesMama is offline  
Old 07-01-2018, 06:51 AM
  #57  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: kansas
Posts: 5,702
Default

I'm competent, but not great with computers, and do find the EQ8 much easier than the EQ7--the buttons make more sense and are not "hidden" like it was so often on my EQ7. I'm still getting used to it, but so far very glad I updated.
quiltingshorttimer is offline  
Old 07-03-2018, 07:03 AM
  #58  
Power Poster
 
dunster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lake Elsinore, CA
Posts: 14,134
Default

Originally Posted by JakesMama View Post
I had EQ7 for a while (before my annual hard drive crash last year) and it just bugged me that it took so many steps to do simple tasks. The makers of the software claim EQ8 is much more intuitive than EQ7. Has anyone found that to be the case? I am considering buying EQ8, but as with most things, I would like to know what other users think of it. Thanks.
I haven't found EQ8 to be any more intuitive, but it does have some very nice features/enhancements that weren't in EQ7. My favorite is that if I edit a block to add or subtract lines, my coloring isn't completely shifted around.
dunster is offline  
Old 07-06-2018, 09:57 AM
  #59  
Member
 
doricu2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: florence ky
Posts: 82
Default

I have EQ7 and would like to design my own applique blocks. I draw what I want on paper or get pictures from coloring books. I can scan to my computer and then I know how to get them into the program but I am having a terrible time using the drawing tools. My question is, is there a trick or easier way to trace or draw them so I can print the templates.
doricu2 is offline  
Old 07-07-2018, 05:31 AM
  #60  
Super Member
 
eparys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: New England, USA
Posts: 2,623
Default

Originally Posted by doricu2 View Post
I have EQ7 and would like to design my own applique blocks. I draw what I want on paper or get pictures from coloring books. I can scan to my computer and then I know how to get them into the program but I am having a terrible time using the drawing tools. My question is, is there a trick or easier way to trace or draw them so I can print the templates.
The few times I have tried this I resorted to making sure that that I entered 200 in the Vertical snap and horizontal snap boxes on an 8 inch block so I had a lot of control over where the start and stop of the lines were. Also if your design is curved (if you already know this - lol - just ignore these directions) , I found it helpful to draw a straight line from the start of the curve to the end of the curve, Then pick an arc and draw it from the start to end point (it will more than likely not match
but do not panic). Choose shape and click on the arc - a dotted triangle appears above the arc and if you put the mouse arrow on the point of the triangle and left click - you can drag that point all around and shape the arc it to your drawing.

If I were going to do several intricate applique designs in EQ I might resort to investing in a drawing tablet. I have a really old Waycom pad I used with 4D embroidery - it acts like a mouse but it is a pen and tablet (a lot like when you go to the store and pay with a a credit card and sign your name on the screen).
eparys is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
RoslynK
Main
8
08-17-2015 02:03 PM
Rhonda
Main
8
11-08-2012 11:29 PM
Johanna Fritz
Links and Resources
4
08-30-2012 12:08 PM
CarolinePaj
Pictures
90
02-13-2011 12:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter


SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.