Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: Help choosing a machine...

Help choosing a machine...

Hi All. New member here seeking guidance. I quilt regularly with my friend, it's casual, fun and relaxing. I usually make baby quilts but just made a queen size quilt for my sister. I'm no expert but I'd like to think I get better with each quilt. I use a Brother cs6000i which I love but I keep that machine at her moms house where we get our sew on. I want a second machine so I can start working on stuff at home too and I want to step it up. I was thinking of a Brother pq1500sl or a Juki tl-2010qi but I also was pretty tempted by a Janome 6500p that Costco has for $999. Meanwhile I was looking for machine suggestions from a sewing dealer on ebay and he is willing to sell me a Elna 760 for $1k that was a demo and has been serviced. Do any of these options stand out as a no-brainer?

Blog Entries
    I’m getting the Juki TL 18 a qvp which is the same as the 2010 with a few more features. It is straight stitch only and known to be a great quilter.
    “Be the change you wish to see in the world.”
    ~Mahatma Ghandi

Blog Entries
    Welcome to the QB. I know many QB members love their Juki 2010 machines. When I purchased my Janome 6600 back in 2011 at a LQS (local quilt shop), I knew I was going to have service available close to where I live. I don’t know if you have considered that?
    attitude is everything...the rest will fall into place.