Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main > For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
Vintage Sewing Machine Shop.....Come on in and sit a spell >

Vintage Sewing Machine Shop.....Come on in and sit a spell

Vintage Sewing Machine Shop.....Come on in and sit a spell

Old 06-14-2011, 05:48 PM

Originally Posted by Glenn
Originally Posted by quiltdoctor
Hey Glenn--Here is my next machine with the wheel soaking in Evaporust. I can't get the wheel off, so I had to try to derust it this way. She is propped on her side with the wheel in pyrex pie pan. In the morning--no more rust.

Texas Jan

She is an old New Home Ruby. I got her and her treadle cabinet for $5.00. I call her my $5.00 folley. Really sad, but getting there. I also redo cabinets.
Texas Jan where do you find these machines? There are in rough condition but you you have proven you can clean them up and I mean a really good job to. I am furniture restorer by trade and I am looking forward to your progress on the cabinet. This cabinet will be more of a challenge than the machine. Veneering and fabricating wood pieces. But we are Texans and we can do anything. What part of N. Texas are your from I am from Decatur TX. Please email me with pics of your progress would love to see them. PM me and I will send you my email if like. I admire you for good work. Glenn
Thanks Glenn, I'll do that.

The Ruby was in a garage sale. I asked if they had a sewing machine and they said they did in the barn. The little hand crank came from E-bay.

Texas Jan
Old 06-14-2011, 06:04 PM

Originally Posted by Crossstitcher
Hey Glenn--Here is my next machine with the wheel soaking in Evaporust. I can't get the wheel off, so I had to try to derust it this way. She is propped on her side with the wheel in pyrex pie pan. In the morning--no more rust.

Texas Jan

She is an old New Home Ruby. I got her and her treadle cabinet for $5.00. I call her my $5.00 folley. Really sad, but getting there. I also redo cabinets.