Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main > For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
Vintage Sewing Machine Shop.....Come on in and sit a spell >

Vintage Sewing Machine Shop.....Come on in and sit a spell

Vintage Sewing Machine Shop.....Come on in and sit a spell

Old 02-04-2011, 03:29 PM
Banned

Originally Posted by cabbagepatchkid
Originally Posted by KellyK
Originally Posted by QuiltnCowgirl
Originally Posted by Miz Johnny
Some machines don't have a clutch knob (or stop motion screw) on the handwheel
Ok - so now that I know what it is called I can ask...

What do you do when the clutch knob no longer stops the handwheel when winding a bobbin. My Featherweight has done this for years. Now my 403 is starting to do it. What is the fix?
I have this problem with my 501A, anyone have ideas?
I'm not an expert but I was reading about this in Dave McCallum's book "The Featherweight 221 and I" (which I highly recommend :-D ).

He says to remove the balance wheel and clean everything. Then oil the shaft, the stop action screw and a drop on the shaft. He says that the oil that once was there isn't any more. It is a dry balance-wheel running on a dry main-shaft causing the balance wheel to get stuck. The book explains how to go about doing all of this plus it has really clear and easy to understand drawings to help "see" what you are doing.
Opps you beat me to it!:lol:

Billy
Old 02-04-2011, 04:02 PM

Here is another parlor cabinet to look at Billy. It is in Burlington, MA which wouldn't be too far from your friend in the Boston area.
http://boston.craigslist.org/nwb/atq/2193687527.html
Old 02-04-2011, 04:23 PM

Originally Posted by cabbagepatchkid
Here is another parlor cabinet to look at Billy. It is in Burlington, MA which wouldn't be too far from your friend in the Boston area.
http://boston.craigslist.org/nwb/atq/2193687527.html