2019 Fabric Moratorium

Old 08-15-2019, 09:12 AM
Power Poster

Keep it up folks...as mentioned earlier, I've been sorting fabrics and passing on fashion fabrics. I also have been cutting juvenile scraps into usable sizes. I'm amazed at the number of charm squares, 5 x 10 and 10 x 10 pieces I have to work with for charity quilts. The other pieces are cut into the widest width and sorted according to size to use in my strippy kids quilts. Getting anxious to sew these as I cut down scrap pile, not until then will I count fabric out. But better yet...no fabric in!
Old 08-15-2019, 10:45 AM

Actually, according to my last post here in February, I hadn’t bought fabric “all year”— so it’s still true!
Old 08-15-2019, 01:30 PM

Congrats, Zozee, on not yielding to the temptations that abound to buy new stuff when we have so much in stash!

I'm in my 3rd year of no new purchases and finally I am seeing substantial dents in the totes, bins, shelves and closets. The combination of sewing like crazy and no new purchases really does work to reduce or deplete stash!
Old 08-15-2019, 02:49 PM

Excellent, Zozee!! Proud of you and everyone else, too.

SillySusan....seriously...you are my hero...no purchases in 3 years is quite the accomplishment. I would have loved to see a picture of your stash 3 years ago...lol..goodness!! Well done!

I'm good with fabric purchases...only purchasing what is needed..but, as previously mentioned...the patterns keep showing up. I'm convinced someone else is buying and sending them to me....
Old 08-15-2019, 10:46 PM