Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main > For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
"electric" White Rotary no. 43-18476 >

"electric" White Rotary no. 43-18476

"electric" White Rotary no. 43-18476

Old 04-03-2016, 05:03 AM

Default "electric" White Rotary no. 43-18476

Hello, I'm new to this forum and am hoping some of you quilters in here can help me.

I have an electric White Rotary sewing machine (no.43-18476). This machine belonged to my mother. She had used it for over 20 yrs. It has been sitting in my storage room for just about as long now. I want to clean it up well but do not know how to start or what to NOT do during the cleaning process.

I would appreciate URLS and/or information about this machine as I've not been able to find it via a google search; and any experiences one has had with such a machine would be welcomed as well.

I'ld like to start making quilts with it but know nothing about this machine as to whether quilts could be made with it. (I'm also new to quilting.)
Old 04-03-2016, 05:31 AM

It's a nice machine. I only know No. 43 in general, not sure what the last digits stand for. Is it a crinkle finish, brown or charcoal sort of color? I googled and apparently it came in various colors and finishes.

Be careful with the finish, it can take a whipe with a microfiber cloth wringed up in mild soapy water. If it's a crinkle finish, be careful what type of polish you use. The resin type named "glaze" or "sealant" is fine, it polishes up nicely and doesn't leave any whitish residue in the crinkles.