Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main > For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
Vintage Sewing Machine Shop.....Come on in and sit a spell >

Vintage Sewing Machine Shop.....Come on in and sit a spell

Vintage Sewing Machine Shop.....Come on in and sit a spell

Old 03-24-2011, 12:12 PM

Originally Posted by Happy Treadler
Because I'm new to the 'electric' scene, I wondered if anyone could tell me if when I press my foot pedal the machine is supposed to continue on a consistent speed or is it OK if it seems to slow down a bit? Sorry for the dumb question, but all the machines I sew on are people-powered.
It really should sew at a consistent speed depending on how hard you are pressing on the foot pedal....press lightly/go slower....press harder/ go faster. It's the same as when pressing a gas pedal while driving a car.
Old 03-24-2011, 12:49 PM

Phone call #2 - A Singer treadle from the 1930s. The owner says it says Leader on it. "Does it work?" " I don't know. I don't know why anyone would want to sew with it. Are you planning on sewing with it?" "Occasionally." The owner knows it belonged to her MIL and she now uses it for a table which bodes well for the cabinet. It's 50 miles away, so she's e mailing me a picture. $85 for this one.

10 minutes later - the pictures arrived. It has the tension on the top, which is a minus to me, but the cabinet and machine look to be in good condition, though I wonder why the top isn't down in the pics. Internet: Leader machines were made by the A G Mason company from 1870-1899. Interesting - worth a roadtrip? I haven't heard from the third one, but a $25 machine may be too much of a project for me. How does the top tension thread?

Not a 1930s machine, I'm sure
[ATTACH=CONFIG]174397[/ATTACH]

Cabinet
[ATTACH=CONFIG]174398[/ATTACH]
Attached Thumbnails attachment-174391.jpe   attachment-174392.png  
Old 03-24-2011, 01:38 PM

Help Please!