Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main > For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
Vintage Sewing Machine Shop.....Come on in and sit a spell >

Vintage Sewing Machine Shop.....Come on in and sit a spell

Vintage Sewing Machine Shop.....Come on in and sit a spell

Old 10-31-2011, 07:40 AM

Originally Posted by pumpkinpatchquilter
I am new to all of this, so if I am about to make myself sound like a total dummy, please forgive me in advance. LOL* I see here you used Bar Keepers Friend to polish the metal, is that a lot different than Comet powder cleanser? Is there any reason I couldn't just use comet on the metal? It does say it cleans stainless steel...thanks! Lol*

Originally Posted by jljack
Originally Posted by Lostn51
I have been working on my Davis since late afternoon. I took a bunch of pics during the process.
Looking good!!!

Before long you will be making a quilt on it. :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup:

Billy
Thanks, Billy. It was fun to do. I used Barkeepers Friend to clean all the metal. It worked like magic!! Think I'll put some Turtle Wax on her to help keep the finish intact. It's pretty bad, and I don't want it to deteriorate any further.
Bar Keepers Friend has a mild acid in it that removes the rust and tarnish. You can smell it when you wet it. Comet has too much abrasive stuff in it, I think. I don't use Comet except in my porcelain sink.
Old 10-31-2011, 07:44 AM

Originally Posted by BoJangles
I have been working on my Davis since late afternoon. I took a bunch of pics during the process.
Janice, look at page 1178. That is what my Davis looks like now. 'Betty' looked just like your Davis when I got her. After cleaning with Goop - non-pumice -, I applied several coats of Blue Magic TR3 Resin Glaze for cars. She is really slick and shiny now - the picture doesn't do her justice.

Nancy
Thanks, Nancy. I'll ask DH to get that car finish for her. Her finish is really pretty bad, so I want to protect it as much as possible.
Old 10-31-2011, 07:45 AM