Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main > For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
Vintage Sewing Machine Shop.....Come on in and sit a spell >

Vintage Sewing Machine Shop.....Come on in and sit a spell

Vintage Sewing Machine Shop.....Come on in and sit a spell

Old 09-17-2010, 01:52 PM

Originally Posted by sueisallaboutquilts
Originally Posted by Miz Johnny

Looks like it has a motor boss and would make a fine hand crank. I'm with Billy; I don't much care for a machine with a tail.
I don't know what you mean by motor boss :D You mean, it has a motor, right?? hee hee
I want to keep it. I'm just getting into vintage machines and treadles are a way off for me :D
A place under the handwheel where the motor attaches. (On the oldest Red Eyes, there is no boss--it has to be used as a treadle.) A hand crank can be attached there and you have a HC machine--no need for the demon electricity.
Old 09-17-2010, 02:33 PM

I

+
Originally Posted by BZ quilting
Unfortunately neither of mine is a singer and I doubt I can find manuals for them. they are both very old
What are they--there's always a chance one of us has a manual!!
I have a Eldredge B (pictured page 150) and Minesota Model D (pictured page 187) Thanks for any help you can give me.
Old 09-17-2010, 04:21 PM

I

+
Unfortunately neither of mine is a singer and I doubt I can find manuals for them. they are both very old
What are they--there's always a chance one of us has a manual!!
I have a Eldredge B (pictured page 150) and Minesota Model D (pictured page 187) Thanks for any help you can give me.
I'll look around and see, but I don't know of any free ones right off hand. Stitches in Time has a lot of high quality manual copies; they run about $15. Make sure if you do buy a manual that you specify the Eldredge B is a VS machine, as there was also an Eldredge B Automatic--a chain stitch machine. Also, the Minnesota D is a badged Davis Model T.
Old 09-17-2010, 06:33 PM