Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main > For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
Vintage Sewing Machine Shop.....Come on in and sit a spell >

Vintage Sewing Machine Shop.....Come on in and sit a spell

Vintage Sewing Machine Shop.....Come on in and sit a spell

Old 06-13-2011, 09:53 AM

Originally Posted by vintagemotif
Beautiful White in gorgeous cabinet! Both machines are very NICE!
Thanks! I hope I can get them. I love the White especially.
Old 06-13-2011, 09:55 AM

Okay, I have a dumb question. I know,there is no such thing as a dumb question, but this may be an exception. I am new to this addiction and so far, I only have 4 vintage sewing machines, a FW, a Singer 115 treadle (head only), a Singer Red Eye 66-1 treadle, and a Singer 201 hand crank. I love all of them, but space is a problem. My DH's solution is to sell the 115, remove the 66 from its treadle cabinet and install the 201 hand crank in the treadle cabinet so I can use it as a treadle or a hand crank. Here is my question: If the hand crank is installed in the treadle cabinet, can it be used as either a hand crank or a treadle??? My DH says yes, but I just wouldn't be able to lower the machine into the cabinet, it would just have to stay up all the time. Help! Should I stop my DH's devious plan, or will it work?
Old 06-13-2011, 09:56 AM

beaniekins

The singer in the last photo looks just like the one I picked up this weekend at a flea market. If it is, it's a 127 built 1902-1904. That one's decals and finish are great shape compared to the one I got. I only got the head.

That must be the same cabinet mine was in, I got 2 of the drawer pulls exactly like those in a box of stuff.
Old 06-13-2011, 10:25 AM

Keep the 115 (much better machine), sell the 66! 115 is a rotary shuttle machine, and much better for piecing. The 66 was the bottom of the line Singer, and you can pick one up anywhere.

The 201 HC will fit in the treadle. If you need to drop the head, take the HC off and do so.