Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main > For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
Vintage Sewing Machine Shop.....Come on in and sit a spell >

Vintage Sewing Machine Shop.....Come on in and sit a spell

Vintage Sewing Machine Shop.....Come on in and sit a spell

Old 07-14-2012, 06:08 AM

Hi Billy,
I am new to this format and your post was very timely for me. I just purchased a Willcox and Gibbs machine at an auction. I'd never seen one, and actually wondered if it was a child's toy due to it being a bit smaller than what you would think a real sewing machine would be. (I've started collecting old toy machines.) In fact, the auctioneer thought it was a salesman's model. It is 8 inches tall, and 10 inches wide. Can you tell me anything about it?

Terri
Old 07-14-2012, 06:36 AM

Originally Posted by BoJangles View Post
Hello everyone! I am behind a few pages, but need to ask a question of you Necchi fans - what does this machine do? Straight stitch and zig zag? I don't have, nor have I ever owned a Necchi! I am looking for a machine for my granddaughter in a small cabinet! She needs one she can sit down and sew on at her house without having to drag out her portable machine! I really would like to find her a Pfaff 1222!
http://sacramento.craigslist.org/for/3138053510.html

I really want her to have a machine with some decoratice stitches - especially the triple stitch as she is always hemming jeans or making jeans into shorts! I may just give her a 401a, but I am afraid she will lose the cams! I'd rather she had a nice vintage machine that has everything built in!

Nancy
Nancy; That is a beautiful machine and a terrific cabinet. Yes the Necchis of that vintage only do zigzag and straight stitch but they are workhorses and I love both of mine. I would still think about it for her because you can get the rolled hemmer feet, at least one of mine came with one, for them and they do make wonderful hems. Hope this helps.
Old 07-14-2012, 07:28 AM